Sunday Suppers: A Round of Comfort Food

It’s cold down here. It didn’t even get out of the 50s today. Comfort food is clearly in order.

Chicken Cordon Bleu

What a hot pocket should look like

What a hot pocket should look like

Glazed Carrots with Mint

What's up doc

What’s up doc

Brown Rice with Porcini Mushrooms

The presentation is a little on the fancy side

The presentation is a little on the fancy side

Richard’s Bread Pudding

Toasting the bread really helps

Toasting the bread really helps

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dessert, Food, Rice/Risotto, Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunday Suppers: A Round of Comfort Food

  1. It’s warm here, but I’d happily face the cold if you were serving up this fare! :)

  2. Eva Taylor says:

    Chicken cordon bleu? Blast from the past!! Only I don’t think you’re as old as I am:)

  3. A risotto with dried ceps is on the menu today. That pocket looks very good.

  4. 50′s? You wimp….
    Blowing snow, and a windchill of 1 this morning.
    All your stuff would make a wonderful, warming dinner, even in these conditions :)

  5. Alison says:

    The temperature made me smile, we haven’t got above minus 30 for weeks, usually being in the minus 40′s with wind chill on top of that and a couple of memorable minus 55′s in the mix. But then, we live on the top of the middle of nowhere, not where normal people live.

    Those carrots look great! All of it does, but the vibrant orange is really appealing to me right now.

  6. cecilia says:

    FIFTIES!!! OH Your Poor Things!!! Hope you have your silk underwear on. I am rather hoping to get above freezing today! I long for the 50′s. Never mind showing me all this beautiful food i am catching a train to where you are!! I’ll remember to bring my sandals and sunblock!! c

  7. egg me on says:

    The 50s? I don’t know if the weather or the food makes more jealous/excited. Happy Sunday!

  8. Gah! I’m fasting right now for a physical tomorrow. Bad idea to check out your site…=(

  9. TasteFood says:

    California cold. And comfort food indeed.

  10. We had our coldest night so far at 26 last night and windy. I’m all for the comfort food right now and it seems like it’s all we’ve been eating lately…which is okay! Chicken Cordon Bleu, can’t remember the last time I tasted that! So enticing.

  11. Carrots really are comfort food and are so colorful in the dark days of winter. Love the addition of mint. Stay warm.

  12. petit4chocolatier says:

    This post is delicious! Loving the comfort foods :)

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    Temps in the 50′s, eh? If I didn’t know better, I’d say you were stirring the pot a bit with that opening comment, Greg. Even so, this was another great meal you’ve put together.

  14. Nicky says:

    Chicken Cordon Bleu is one of my favorites. Your pictures look great. You have some really cold weather there. It was 70 here today :). Thanks for following my blog at Our Little Family Adventure. I look forward to following you as well. Visit my facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/OurLittleFamily Adventure on Fridays for a Friday Community Link Up Event. I’d love to see your blog there.

  15. Kristy says:

    I saw comfort food and instantly thought of bread pudding. So happy it’s on the menu. The chicken looks fabulous too. Haven’t had a cordon bleu in a while. And I’d be ok if you sent some of that 50 degree weather up this way. ;)

  16. I am getting a bit of that cold wind over here in Florida! I cannot decide which looks the best – the cordon bleu or the carrots. I might take one of everything. Yum.

Leave a Reply

