Bok Choy Salad

Tangy but without the dreaded mayo

Tangy but without the dreaded mayo

This is a quick simple salad that can be prepared earlier and served cold or served hot. Served cold the dressing has more time to flavor the bok choy.

Bok Choy Salad

  • 1 bok choy shredded
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 4 garlic cloves cut into thin slivers
  • 2 tbsp white onion minced
  • 2 tbsp sesame chili oil
  • 4 hot or sweet red peppers thinly sliced

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Mix lemon juice and fish sauce in a bowl then add coconut milk. Mix well. In a frying pan, heat oil and saute onion for two minutes, then add the peppers and then the garlic. Saute until soft and remove from heat. Add bok choy to boiling water and stir contents twice then strain bok choy and place in a bowl. Mix coconut milk with fried vegetables and pour over salad. Mix well and serve warm or refrigerate for two hours and serve cold.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bok Choy Salad

  1. sallybr says:

    Wow, Greg… that is a very interesting salad… I never though of making a dressing with coconut milk, and now I am salivating just thinking about it (the Brazilian side is showing its face)

    I might have to use something else in place of onions, though – hubby cannot eat them…

    very nice recipe, I am pinning it…

  2. That’s creative!
    How much bok-choi? All we can find right now is ‘baby’…

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    So much of this recipe is unknown to me, Greg. Sure would like to give it a try, though, especially the coconut dressing. And I’ve a new bottle of fish sauce waiting to be opened.

  4. Carolyn Chan says:

    That sounds lovely! I like the coconut cream idea

  5. Kristy says:

    Mmmm! Definitely served cold would be my preference…with hot peppers.

  6. Wow this sounds delicious!! I have been eating a lot of salads lately but am in need of more variations. Never thought to make salads with bok choy, definitely making this asap! Thanks :)

  7. zestybeandog says:

    Mmm simple and fresh!

  8. This was a staple in my house growing up. Yum.

  9. My kids’ favorite vegetable. I’ll try this.

  10. Can you believe I’ve never had Bok Choy??? This is a must try for me. It looks so tasty!

  11. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Summer Salad Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

