Miso Soup

So simple and tasty

So simple and tasty

So now that there is all that dashi it is time to make some miso soup. The great things about miso is that it can be garnished with all sorts of things. It is the traditional first course to a meal of sushi, but can also make an excellent starter course for just about anything or as a light lunch.

I like to use sliced mushrooms, slivers of seaweed and tofu but many other things will work such as green onions, slivers of ginger, noodles, wontons, lemongrass, cabbage etc. Experiment with different mixtures of miso paste. I like one tablespoon red to two tablespoons white, but the sky is the limit.

Miso Soup

  • 2 tbsp white miso paste
  • 1 tbsp red miso paste
  • 1 quart dashi
  • 1 cup cubed tofu
  • 1/2 cup slivered seaweed
  • 3 sliced shitake mushrooms

Bring dashi to a slow boil then turn down to a low simmer. Add four tablespoons stock to miso paste and stir until incorporated. Add paste back to broth a little at a time until flavor is reached. Add tofu, mushrooms and seaweed. Bring back to a boil and cook five minutes then serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Soups, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Miso Soup

  1. Carolyn Chan says:

    One of my all-time favourites – love this soup !

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    Love miso soups. I usually use red miso with spicy (a squirt of Sriracha really hits the spot) soups and the white with milder ones. You’ll find some of my favourites under the ‘miso’ tag in my LJ posts.

    http://a-boleyn.livejournal.com/tag/miso

  3. rutheh says:

    Thanks for this> I was going to make Emeril’s vegetable miso with smoked tofu but I like the sound of yours better. I am making a dinner for 18 Sat night for the year of the snake Chinese New Year.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    This sounds so much better than how I’ve made Miso soup. Time to update my recipe file. Thanks, Greg.

  5. Great shot of delicious soup. Nice recipe – all I lack is the ingredients;)

  6. I love MIso soup! I’m working on making my own vegetarian dashi though, I prefer not to use the powdered stuff.

  7. Gorgeous, am loving this little trip to Japan!

  8. Kristy says:

    Miss A will be over for lunch. This is her favorite soup. :)

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    Miso is one of my GOTO soups. We’re getting hit bad with the snow storm, fortunately many people stayed home so the ride in wasn’t too bad. Have a great weekend.

  10. TasteFood says:

    I adore miso soups – thanks for the recipe

  11. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent – it’s making me hungry :-)

  12. cecilia says:

    Fabulous and years since i had this soup.. we used to have it for breakfast at drama school.. THAT long ago!! c

  13. Love all the mushrooms in your miso. I’m so used to a cube or two of tofu and a slice of seaweed as the only solids in miso.

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    I love the addition of mushrooms in this miso soup

Leave a Reply

