Japanese Stock

If this is product placement I forgot to charge for it

If this is product placement I forgot to charge for it

Dashi is one of those pantry staples everyone should have on hand. It freezes very well and lasts indeffiently. The ingredients will probably require a trek to the nearest Asian grocery in most places, but it is worth it. The stock is very light but high in flavor and is the basis for many soups and dishes as well as being excellent by itself or poured over some fresh rice noodles.

Of course I have heard the instant versions are fairly close and quite good as well. But where is the fun in that?

Dashi

Place seaweed in large stock pot and cover with boiling water. Let steep for at least an hour then over a very low heat bring the water to a simmer, the longer this takes the better. Once simmering remove seaweed and increase heat. Bring stock to a boil then add bonito flakes and remove from heat. Let stand two minutes then strain stock. Dashi is ready for use or can be frozen. A second round of dashi can be made by simmering the used seaweed and fish flakes in four cups cold water for about 20 minutes then straining again. Discard the seaweed and bonito.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Japanese Stock

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve made miso soup but never tried to make dashi. I need to change that. Thanks for the recipe and inspiration, Greg.

  2. This is one of the occasions when living in the heart of French countryside has its disadvantages. There is no nearby Asian supermarket, mores the pity. When I next go to London I shall bring some of those ingredients back with me.

  3. Often order it, never make it…time to rectify that!

  4. Oh oh oh. Learning plenty of new things here! :)

  5. sallybr says:

    I’ve made it once, still have the ingredients in my pantry – good that you nudge me to make it again, it really IS much better than instant stuff

  6. egg me on says:

    There’s that rooster kettle again! Love it.

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Mmmm – for some reason you’ve got me wondering if I can make little cubes of this with gelatine inside a seaweed parcel – thanks for the inspiration :-)

  8. Thanks for sharing! I love Asian food, but just do not do well with making stocks and sauces. Happy Hump Day

  9. Kristy says:

    Miss A is a big fan. :)

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    I love the taste of Japanese stock, so warming and good. I must get over to my Asian grocer and get some bonito and kombu to make this tasty broth.

  11. I’m still getting used to having green tea everyday. Will definitely look into this stock!

  12. nrhatch says:

    I love that happy rooster! :D

  13. rsmacaalay says:

    Great post, this is the basic of all Japanese stock without this a lot of Japanese soup wont taste the same

  14. Pingback: Bok Choy Soup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

