Beer-Battered Onion Rings are Perfection

The steak is just for looks

The steak is just for looks

I love fried onions. Whether they are in rings, petals, shredded, or the entire onion is deep fried does not matter. What does matter is picking the right process to make them.

This is how to make the tastiest, crispiest, onion rings where the onion does not pull out of the filling on the first bite. I like spicy, but any combination of spices could work depending on your preference. Steak makes a nice side to these as well.

The recipe is for two large onions, but can be increased or decreased easily for however many rings you want to make. Any regular beer will work but I have had excellent results with wheat beers. Do not use light beer.

Onion Rings

  • 2 large sweet white onions
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup beer
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp Old Bay seasoning
  • Salt/pepper

Cut onions into large rings. Separate each ring trying not to break them. In a baking dish, layer rings evenly and pour buttermilk over them. Let the onions sit for 2-4 hours mixing them every 30 minutes. Mix flour, beer, and spices together to form a thick batter. Let the batter stand for at least 30 minutes. In a dutch oven or deep fryer, heat enough oil to make two inches of liquid. The oil is ready when it is completely still and a drop of water will pop in it. Remove onions from buttermilk and shake off any excess. Use the milk for biscuits later. Dust rings with a little flour shaking off the excess and then, a couple at a time, dredge them in the batter and drop them into the oil. Fry turning once until golden brown. Remove rings to a towel-lined baking sheet to drain and sprinkle with extra salt, if desired. If making a lot of rings place the tray in an oven at 300 degrees to keep the finished ones warm. Continue frying rings until all done. Do not overcrowd the pan when frying. Serve rings hot with any number of dipping sauces or by themselves.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Beer-Battered Onion Rings are Perfection

  1. Lauren says:

    Those. Look. Awesome. Hold the steak, please. ;)

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    I love onion rings … hate to deep fry. Give me both the steak and onion rings though and I’ll love you, for a long time. :)

  3. hahaha, was trying to hide this page from my husband – no luck, now I will have to make those onion rings, but he wants the steak as well and no way can I get meat like this here. Thanks anyway (smile!) Carina

  4. rutheh says:

    Looks like LOVE to me. Mmmmm.

  5. Beer battered onion rings are the best. :-) Mandy

  6. Carolyn Chan says:

    My biggest bug bear with onion rings is that they separate from the batter – will definitely give this recipe a try !

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    I haven’t had onion rings, I mean really good onion rings (like these) in a million years! These look incredible! I made a batch of Old Bay this past weekend, do I dare make these?

  8. egg me on says:

    Never (ever) use light beer. These look awesome, man! That steak’s not too bad either. Makes a great platform for those fried beauties.

  9. Mad Dog says:

    You’ve added some great flavours to an old favourite :-)

  10. I love these! I’m keeping this recipe ;)

  11. Hardly noticed the steak under those beauties!

  12. billpeeler says:

    I am always a sucker for onion rings – those look AWESOME —

  13. cecilia says:

    YUM! i need to make some buttermilk. When we deep fry i make John do it out on the verandah because of the smell.. so it is not unusual to find him sat out in freezing temperatures cooking!! He will do it for onion rings though.. good morning.. c

  14. TasteFood says:

    Perfection indeed…

  15. Woo! Love the onion rings!

  16. You know… I’m not sure if I’ve ever had onion rings? An oversight clearly.

  17. ChgoJohn says:

    Old Bay’s to the rescue! I really don’t fry foods often but onion rings are a must whenever I decided to fry something. I’ll definitely be giving your batter a try. Thanks, Greg.

  18. Natalie Ward says:

    I haven’t had onion rings for ages! So craving a bowl now, you can keep the steak. Glad you overcame your deep fat frying fear for this, they look amazing!

  19. Kristy says:

    I’m just drooling. I don’t fry too often, but these would make it worth it. The kids would be in heaven too. I love that the onions won’t fall out on the first bite either. That’s a major annoyance for me. :)

  20. I have an unhealthy obsession with onion rings.. these look AMAZING!

  21. petit4chocolatier says:

    This looks delicious!!

  22. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Steakhouse Favorites | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

