Cold Pasta with Chick Peas, Capers and More

Some olives wouldn't be bad either

Some olives wouldn’t be bad either

Katherine made this dish for a work gathering. She set aside half for a vegan before stirring feta into the rest for the cheese lovers. It’s great both ways, but the feta does add a nice creaminess. This is a nice alternative to pasta salads with her most dreaded ingredient — mayo.

Pasta Salad with Chick Peas

  • 12- to 16-ounce box of tri-color spirals or pasta shape of your choice
  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 4 tbsp capers
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 4 ounces crumbled feta
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • roughly 1/4 cup lime juice
  • salt/pepper

Cook pasta until al dente. Drain and set aside. In a small bowl, mix olive oil, vinegar, lime juice. Taste and adjust seasoning adding salt and pepper or adjusting lime juice or vinegar as needed. In a large bowl, mix garbanzos, onion, garlic, red pepper and capers. Stir in pasta and mix to incorporate. Pour dressing over the pasta, then toss in parsley and feta. Adjust seasoning as needed. Refrigerate for an hour or so to let the flavors meld. Serve cold.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Cold Pasta with Chick Peas, Capers and More

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    It looks like a very colourful and tasty pasta salad … especially with the addition of the chickpeas and feta.

  2. Lauren says:

    Looks fabulous. Love the Mediterranean spin.

  3. sallybr says:

    Beautiful!

    as a certified mayo-hater, I love what you came up with to keep it out of the game… Well done!

  4. This looks yummy, and agreed, a few olive wouldn’t be bad at all!

  5. TasteFood says:

    Great combination – nice and light.

  6. Sounds scrumity. :-) Mandy

  7. Mad Dog says:

    That’s an excellent salad :-)

  8. yum…the lime juice is a perfect ingredient to bring out all the freshness.

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    I love the addition of capers, and immediately thought, OMG salmon would be so tasty in this!

  10. Karen says:

    I like mayo but you definitely don’t need it in pasta salad…especially with the feta cheese. Sounds terrific.

  11. What a good idea! I love the vegan option. Not that I am vegan… (ick!)

  12. Kristy says:

    Looks good to me! I bet the feta is great in this. I think this is one that our whole house would enjoy. :)

  13. egg me on says:

    I loves me some mayo, but feta (or goat cheese) does add a nice amount of creaminess. I bet a dollop of Greek yogurt would be good too.

  14. You had me at capers. I love capers in pasta.

  15. petit4chocolatier says:

    Looks so refreshing! Love chick peas, feta and pasta…, triple yummy!!!

  16. The vegan got half? Unfair to the rest who had to share!

  17. ChgoJohn says:

    Although I like mayo, I never use it in a pasta salad. Your dressing of balsamic, olive oil, and lime juice sounds perfect to me. Love, too, the addition of capers for an occasional pop of flavor.

  18. windykitchen says:

    I like the ingredient list — somehow I always forget about capers, but they add so much flavor.

  19. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Fantastic Fourth | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

