Sunday Suppers: Birthday Meals

By Katherine

Greg’s birthday always involves steak and potatoes. While it’s best to find crab only in Maryland and only in the summer, one year we splurged and found some packaged lump blue crab meat for a crab dip appetizer. That was also the year I got a migraine so severe I later lost most of that dinner making me wish I’d gotten imitation crab for once. On that lovely note, here’s Greg’s ideal birthday meal. I’ll work on getting his birthday — it was earlier this month — pushed into crab season.

Blue Crab Dip

Accept so substitutes

Accept so substitutes

Strip Steaks with Port and Balsamic Reduction

Yeah baby steak

Yeah baby steak

Roasted Fingerling Potatoes with Rosemary and Truffle Salt

Fingerling licking good

Fingerling licking good

Rum Cake

That is a nice looking bundt

That is a nice looking bundt

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Beef, Dessert, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sunday Suppers: Birthday Meals

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I’m recovering from a major gorge of market deli foods so I can’t fully appreciate all the wonderful dishes that you’ve posted today. Especially that rich crab dip. :) I could manage a thin slice of the rum cake though. :)

  2. rutheh says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Greg! Looks like quite a feast.

  3. Tammy says:

    Looks like a terrific meal.

  4. Happy belated birthday Greg. :-) Mandy

  5. Fabulous Rum cake! I must try this.

  6. Mad Dog says:

    Very nice – happy birthday!

  7. Happy Birthday! Maybe you can have the crab shipped to you, at a price. This looks out of this world delicious.

  8. Belated Birthday Greetings – wish you could have cooked for me on mine a few days back, this looks great!

  9. I wish it was my birthday!

  10. Happy Birthday Greg!! You know you’re loved when your wife makes you a dinner like this one:)

  11. Kristy says:

    Happy belated birthday to Greg! Hope you had a delicious meal. This Sunday Supper sure looks like a winner to me. I’d lick that port and balsamic plate clean!

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    I’m lagging in my blogging duties and this time it cost me. Tonight’s dinner will be a strip steak and I’ve everything to try your recipe but the 4 hours to marinate the steak. I will next time. Guaranteed. Thanks for the reminder about the earlier post.

  13. Happy belated birthday, Greg!

  14. egg me on says:

    Happy (belated) Birthday Greg! Looked like a great way to celebrate!

  15. Gosh, who wouldn’t want a birthday meal like that???? Happy belated Birthday, Greg!

  16. niasunset says:

    Happy Birthday dear Greg, this is wonderful meal, Katherine is amazing. Thank you, Blessing and Happiness to you both, love, nia

  17. Eva Taylor says:

    That is the nicest look bundt I’ve seen.

  18. wok with ray says:

    Belated Happy Birthday, Greg. Nice for the big guy to be spoiled by his lovely wife. :) Thank you and have a good week to you both!

  19. Happy Birthday to Greg! Leave it to you guys to post a rum cake recipe – I’ve been looking for one that isn’t just the traditional bacardi rum cake. My oldest daughter who’s birthday is tomorrow asked for rum cake this year! Thanks for posting – should I add more RUM? I read your rum cake post and am not sure if I should add more?

  20. spree says:

    A very very happy beyond-belated birthday Greg! Somebody knows how to celebrate you in style! Sorry to have missed your day…i would have loved to have added my voice to the choir!

Leave a Reply

