Chorizo Hash

It is healthier than it looks

It is healthier than it looks

This is a great way to give breakfast some flair. Good chorizo can be found at most supermarkets or at any Mexican grocery. Make sure to buy it fresh, in links and not prepacked like breakfast sausage.

Chorizo Hash

  • 1lb potatoes, scrubbed and chopped into small bites with skin on
  • 2 chorizo sausages, casings removed
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced medium small
  • 1 small onion, diced fine
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • Salt/pepper
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Cook potatoes in boiling salted water until almost cooked through, about 5 minutes. Strain and then dunk in cold water to stop cooking. Combine flour, oregano, salt and pepper in a bowl and dredge potatoes in mixture. In a large saute pan, melt butter with olive oil. Saute onion until translucent then add bell pepper and jalapeno. Cook until the peppers begin to soften then add chorizo. Use a spoon to break up the sausage as it browns and then add potatoes and remaining oregano. Cook until coating on potatoes is golden brown adding more butter if pan gets too dry. Serve with scrambled eggs mixed with hot sauce and mushrooms.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Mexican, Pork, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Chorizo Hash

  1. TasteFood says:

    Yum. Love chorizo and love hash, so there you go.

  2. Delicious – we had this nearly every third day for a month! whilst staying in Madrid last year. But sadly, it goes straight to my hips.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    That’s my kind of breakfast :-)

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    Great idea! JT loves hash. Perfect for a lazy Sunday.

  5. I love Mexican chorizo. Not available here, I should look for a recipe to make it at home.

  6. sallybr says:

    Wait until I show this to Phil and he will BEG me to make some for him… ha, the power!

  7. MMMMM! Wonderful! I can’t wait to try it!

  8. Sounds wonderful, certainly gonna save this recipe for later :-)

  9. Rachel says:

    Oh yes please!!! Mmmm… I can *almost* smell it…

  10. egg me on says:

    Yowza! I want this. NOW.

  11. petit4chocolatier says:

    I am going to attempt this. This looks and sounds flavorful and easy :)

  12. Nice. Love the chorizo twist.

  13. nrhatch says:

    Your house must smell so good. :D

  14. Karen says:

    A spicy way to start the day…I’ll take my eggs fried and sitting on top, please.

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    OK. I’ll admit it. I’m a hash junkie. I order it far more times than I’ll ever admit. This recipe means that I’ll be eating it even more often. YAY!

  16. Kristy says:

    Yum! Some hash with a kick. Sounds like a good side with some eggs. Mmmm! I’m thinking of dashing a little cholula on there too.

  17. cecilia says:

    Though to be completely truthful.. nothing is as good as steak with mashed potato and gravy and peas and a green salad.. in a perfect world i would eat it every day – not just on gregs birthday! Hi darlinks! c

  18. rsmacaalay says:

    My oh my, I love the flavours in this hash

Leave a Reply

