Spaghetti with Apples

This tastes nothing like applesauce by the way

This tastes nothing like applesauce by the way

This recipe is adapted from Lidia’s version here. I don’t hold with all that blended tomatoes in a sauce nonsense, but this is a really good quick mid-week meal. Any apples will work including sweet and I used fuji apples. The wheat pasta goes very well and makes the dish a little heartier, but normal noodles can be used.

Spaghetti with Apple Sauce

  • 1/2 cup celery minced
  • 1/2 cup onion minced
  • 2 apples peeled, cored and shredded
  • 4 leaves basil cut into ribbons
  • 2 28-ounce cans tomatoes crushed by hand very well
  • 1 cup grated Romano
  • Salt/pepper
  • 1 lb whole wheat spaghetti
  • 2 tbsp butter

In a large saute pan melt butter over medium heat and saute onion until it is dark golden brown. Add celery and cook until softened. Add tomatoes and basil and simmer over medium heat for 10 minutes. Add apples and cook until sauce thickens, about 20 minutes more. Meanwhile cook pasta to al dente in boiling salted water. Add cheese to tomato sauce and mix well then toss pasta with a few spoonfuls of sauce. Serve out noodles and top with more sauce and extra cheese.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Spaghetti with Apples

  1. sallybr says:

    Here I am’, minding my own business and then I caught myself screaming: Spaghetti with WHAT?
    :-)

    I trust you… but what an amazing take on pasta… makes me want to try it right away…

  2. What she said. Actually as I read the ingredients it began to make a crazy sort of sense…and if you and Lidia say so, then it must be great!

  3. Lauren says:

    I’m not sure how I feel about this.

  4. rsmacaalay says:

    Very interesting flavours on this dish. Nice mix of sweet and savoury

  5. Different, sounds very interesting. :-) Mandy

  6. Intriguing…..weird but in a good way (I think)!

  7. I’m with Chica….intriguing, but in a weird way. I think the idea would appeal to kids, like my little guy!!!!

  8. What an interesting variation. We always have apples on hand — not fuji, but apples just the same. :)

  9. easybaked says:

    Yum—-I want to try this sauce with spaghetti squash!!!!

  10. How interesting! Excited to try it out.

  11. Eva Taylor says:

    Now that’s a new combo for me, but it makes sense since many put sugar into their tomato sauce. Happy Friday!

  12. Karen says:

    Well that is a first for me but as you say Lidia is a good cook…if the two of you like it, it must be good.

  13. I am not sure how I feel about this… Definitely a unique flavor combo.

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    Apples? I’ve not heard of this but if Lidia says it’s authentic, it must be. I rarely blend or puree my tomatoes, too. I like a little bit of texture in my sauces

  15. spree says:

    One of the strangest combinations I’ve heard in a while…kind of stuns you out of your ordinary life and the things you normally see simmering away on the stove! But if Lidia says so, and you two agree, who’s to argue?

  16. egg me on says:

    Very, very, very, very intrigued about this “apple” sauce! I’ll definitely try it.

  17. Alison says:

    That looks really interesting! I am going to have to try this. Thanks.

  18. petit4chocolatier says:

    I actually love the idea of apples in sauce. Many put sugar in their sauce. This is a healthier way.., love it!

  19. Nice touch with the apples!

  20. The addition of apples would make this sauce so moist and tender!

  21. Kristy says:

    I bet the wheat pasta is particularly good with this. Plus we can totally use the apples right now. (apple a day…)

  22. Pingback: Recipe Resolution | Rosy Hill

  23. I don’t know what goes into apple sauce, but where’s the connection to apples in this recipe? Sorry, must be living under a rock here…

Leave a Reply

