Grilled Rack of Lamb Two Ways

Grilled polenta is not optional

Grilled polenta is not optional

Grilling lamb chops individually reduces the cooking time and is a great way to boost the flavor of the meat. Make sure to have a good bed of coals and close the grill to reduce flare ups from the dripping fat. I made two different glazes for the meat, Katherine preferred the balsamic and I preferred the bourbon, but both were very tasty. The glazes are in ratios to taste and can be adjusted, and increased depending on your taste and the amount of meat that is cooking.

Although you can buy lamb already cut, I recommend buying the full rack and slicing them yourself to save money.

Bourbon Molasses Glaze

  • 1 part bourbon
  • 1/2 part black strap molasses
  • 1/4 part cider vinegar
  • Salt/pepper

Balsamic Molasses Glaze

  • 1 part molasses
  • 1/2 part balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 part red wine
  • Salt/pepper

Season lamb with salt, pepper and ground mace on each side. Drizzle with fresh lemon juice and olive oil and set aside for 30 minutes. Start a fire in grill. Mix glaze ingredients to taste. When fire is ready grill chops brushing with glaze on the cooked side of the meat until medium rare, about 3 minutes per side. Cook longer if you want it more well done. Brush extra glaze on finished chops and serve immediately.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Grilling/Smoking, Lamb, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Grilled Rack of Lamb Two Ways

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I love lamb … and grilling them just makes the taste even better.

  2. rutheh says:

    Murphy sends his best regards!

  3. Those look great! I think I’ve got some lamb chops I brought back from France :)

  4. Best looking lamb chops that I’ve seen in a long while. Pretty much perfect.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    What an elegant dinner, and although I had previously not enjoyed polenta, I dare say it’s growing on me.

  6. Love this…Hubby’s in charge of the meat, and usually just does a sprinkle of dry herbs. I’ll see if I can get him to try this!

  7. Lamb chops AND polenta…2 of my favorite
    foods. Yum!

  8. egg me on says:

    My vote is for the bourbon molasses glaze. Great stuff. Keep on grillin’ on!

  9. Grilled polenta is not optional, I agree! Everything looks fantastic!

  10. Karie Engels says:

    Wow ~ that is mouth watering!!

  11. Both glazes sound delicious! Lamb rack is mindnumbingly expensive here for some reason..

  12. Mad Dog says:

    They look like large chops – great recipes too!

  13. Nice! Next time I make grilled rack of lamb, I’ll definitely include polenta.

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    The Grill Master strikes again! Excellent looking chops, Greg, and I wouldn’t care which glaze you used. I’d probably pass because I wouldn’t want anything to mask the grill flavoring.

  15. Kristy says:

    I know the balsamic would be a winner for me (and Miss A). Mike and Mr. N would go the Bourbon route. They remind me of our bbq this past summer. Mmmmm. Why is our grill put away?! Ugh. Maybe I’ll just pull it out myself.

  16. i try balsamic on fish and seafood before….
    never try with lamb, sounds interesting!

  17. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Signs of Spring | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

