Flank Steak in a Marsala Mushroom Sauce

Hey, those potatoes look familiar

This sauce was delicious. Sadly the steak wasn’t the best cut, but we plan to make the recipe again soon with a better piece of meat. Make sure you get a nice lean flank steak and not some cheapo broiler that’s better for tacos or stews, like we did.

Flank Steak with Marsala Mushroom Sauce

  • 2-3 pound flank steak
  • 1/2 large onion, sliced thin (about a cup)
  • 8 ounces white mushrooms such as button, baby bella or cremini
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup marsala

Season each side of the steak with salt and pepper. Over medium heat, heat olive oil in a large skillet that can go in the oven. Quickly sear the meat on each side and then remove meat. Place on a large plate and tent with foil. In the skillet, saute the onions until tender and golden, about 10 minutes. Add mushrooms and saute until water releases and the mushrooms are tender. Season with salt and pepper and add marsala, lower the heat to a simmer and cook until thick. Return the meat to the pan and then put in the oven and cook at 365 until done, about five minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Flank Steak in a Marsala Mushroom Sauce

  1. Cindi says:

    Well looks are deceiving, that looks SO yummy! Sorry the meat was a flop. I’m trying this tomorrow, and will use my home grown beef cut of flank steak. Will let you know how it is. Thanks for the post.

  2. Flank can be tricky to get right…but it has great beefy flavor when you get there!
    Love the mushrooms!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Shame about the flank – it can often be very good, as I’m sure you know.

  4. windykitchen says:

    now THIS is a manly meal

  5. egg me on says:

    Great looking steak man, even if the cut wasn’t up to par. Marsala and mushrooms make everything better.

  6. Wow this looks great!! Sorry it didn’t turn out as you had hoped but it sure sounds amazing!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    I bought one flank steak many years ago. It was awful and I’ve never bought one again, despite seeing it prepared beautifully many times since. I’m still not brave enough to try it again but I will make this mushroom marsala sauce. It really does look great.

  8. Looks great and I bet that sauce would be fantastic as a bruschetta topping!

  9. I think I could eat those delicious mushrooms by themselves!

  10. zestybeandog says:

    This looks amazing! The mushrooms alone are wonderful :)

  11. rsmacaalay says:

    That is a nice slab of meat, I would love them on my plate

  12. petit4chocolatier says:

    It still looks gorgeous!

  13. It’s disappointing when you make something and the meat doesn’t behave but this looks delicious.

  14. Eva Taylor says:

    Wow, that sounds incredibly delicious. Must get Marsala.

  15. Kristy says:

    I am all over mushrooms these days. This looks delicious! I love Marsala in sauces. We’ve been tossing about ideas for a good steak recipe for a future date night. I’m going to throw this one in the mix. :)

Leave a Reply

