Wild Mushroom Soup

Happiness in a bowl

Aww heck, our regular grocery store has some fancy-pants new organic mushrooms. Hold us back.

Wild Mushroom Soup

  • 2 1/4 cup dried shitakes (about a 2.5 ounce pack)
  • 1/4 cup dried porcinis
  • 4 ounces thinly sliced white mushrooms such as button or cremini
  • 4 ounces maitake mushrooms chopped roughly
  • 1 1/2 onions, sliced thin
  • 2 cayenne peppers, minced
  • 2 tbsp fresh thyme, chopped
  • 3 cups vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • olive oil
  • salt/pepper

Soak dried mushrooms in enough boiling water to cover them for 30 minutes. Remove mushrooms and squeeze as much liquid from them, reserving the juice. Chop re-hydrated mushrooms into a fine dice. Heat about a tablespoon of olive oil in a large stock pan. Throw in onions and saute over low heat until golden and soft, about 15 minutes. Stir in dried mushrooms and saute until they begin to brown over medium heat. Add fresh mushrooms and cook until they release their liquid. Add reserved mushroom water and broth and bring to a low boil then turn heat down to medium and cook until soup incorporates, about 15 minutes.  Add cream and thyme mix well and cook another 5-10 minutes. Adjust seasoning. Remove from heat and serve warm.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Soups, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Wild Mushroom Soup

  1. TasteFood says:

    I love wild mushroom soup. And I like how you only added a little cream. Yum.

  2. spree says:

    Fabulous! This is the very soup my Guinea pig would do handsprings for!

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    I bet this would make a perfect soup course for a celebratory meal. “Happiness in a bowl” is right, Greg.

  4. Oh my goodness, that looks divine! I adore mushroom soup! Happy New Year to you both! x

  5. Great idea for a mushroom soup. We had so much rain before Christmas that we have had very few fresh Cep (porcini), but I always have dried ones. Perfect for a frosty day like today.

  6. A_Boleyn says:

    I love mushrooms soup and this one uses such a variety of interesting ones.

  7. Misky says:

    No thyme, Greg?

  8. Beautiful – and packed full of gorgeous mushrooms!

  9. Oh, yeah! THIS, I love…got some leftover dried Hen of the Woods to use, too!

  10. Oh Greg! I feel like that salad eating woman now….

  11. Stephanie says:

    Looks delicious… oddly enough, cream of mushroom soup always reminds me a Japan. I stayed with a family there who would have it for breakfast as a treat occasionally. I bet your version would be an excellent eye-opener.

  12. sallybr says:

    This would warm me up for a while…. awesome version, I also like the fact you held back on the cream, I like when the taste of the mushroom comes through wild (pun maybe intended… ) and clear!

  13. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious :-)
    Im afraid that spree did make me wonder what Guinea Pig would taste like if fed on wild mushroom soup? Probably quite good!

  14. I was thinking about making mushroom soup but with portabellos instead!

  15. Eva Taylor says:

    It is definitely that time of the year when soup is most craved, particularly mushroom soup. The mushroom juice from reconstituting them is something I love to use, it’s just so flavourful. Now you’ve got me craving mushroom soup. Mushrooms and thyme are heavenly together. You should add a tablespoon of cognac to it, it really compliments the mushroom flavour.

  16. windykitchen says:

    Looks great! I’m just now slowly beginning to experiment with mushrooms; I may bookmark this for when I’ve totally overcome my phobia :)

  17. Very nice recipe Greg! Great for the after party time ;)

  18. rayandskye says:

    I’m drooling. This sounds so good and I just bought a bag of dried mushrooms so I know what I’ll be making this week.

  19. Kath the Cook says:

    you need to get one of those mushroom growing kits. I got one for Christmas. Looks great!

  20. rsmacaalay says:

    Look at all those savoury earthiness in that bowl

  21. Kristy says:

    I would LOVE this soup. And this grocery store. I can’t get enough mushrooms. :)

  22. gassengirl says:

    My husband would lovveee this! He can’t do the dairy, but I think it’d be fine without. Yum!

  23. egg me on says:

    That certainly is one happy looking bowl. Did you find those mushrooms at Kroger?? I was at Kroger while I was home for Christmas.

  24. Carolyn Chan says:

    You fancy pants and your fancy mushrooms ! I am just totally jealous – we get white button and if we’re lucky, swiss brown mushrooms here in Singapore :) Looks divinely comforting and delicious.

  25. So savory. Great job!

  26. thequickanddirtycook says:

    looks amazing! love mushroom soup as much as I do French onion :)

  27. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Falltastic | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

