Twelve Days of Christmas: Pistachio Biscotti

So good dunked in coffee spiked with liquor

So good dunked in coffee spiked with liquor

We thought about dipping these in chocolate, but why mess with perfection?

Pistachio Biscotti

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 1/2 tsp rosewater
  • 1 cup pistachios

Preheat oven to 375. Butter and flour a baking sheet. In a large bowl, mix flour, salt, baking powder and sugar. Create a well in the center. Add eggs, honey and rosewater. Stir until incorporated. Add pistachios and mix again. Drop dough onto baking sheet in two even logs, about two inches wide and 10-12 inches long. Bake until golden and firm. Let cool for 10 minutes. Lower heat to 325. Once biscotti has cooled slightly cut them at a diagonal in roughly 1/2 inch slices. Stand upright on baking sheet and return to oven. Cook for 10 minutes longer.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Twelve Days of Christmas: Pistachio Biscotti

  1. TasteFood says:

    I love biscotti – rose water is a great addition.

  2. That’s a good reminder to buy pistachios – thanks:)

  3. True. I think chocolate would’ve been overkill with pistachios.

  4. Mmm, these sound great. I just finished making a batch of (chocolate covered) biscotti yesterday…

  5. BohPo says:

    I live in England and I hear the word biscotti on American shows but always wondered what it was. I think I might try these myself they look delicious.

  6. Now your talking! This is perfect for a day like today, a little sun, lots of bone chilling wind and a bit of snow. I’ll take two with a fat free latté, OK, make that three.

  7. Mad Dog says:

    ^ might take 2 myself ;-)

  8. petit4chocolatier says:

    The pistachio is perfect and just enough; delicious!

  9. Michelle says:

    Very nice. I often feel like Goldilocks where biscotti recipes are concerned. Sometimes too hard, sometimes too crumbly…

  10. Carolyn Chan says:

    Oh these I have to make! The rosé water would go so well in these with the pistachios.

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    Must be the weather. I spent yesterday morning making biscotti. Wish I’d seen this recipe before I started. I could have easily made some of these. They sound great, Greg.

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    This will go well with coffee or tea, yum!

  13. Kristy says:

    I’ve got two little pistachio junkies that would love this!

  14. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: Rosemary and Pomegranate Gin and Tonics | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  15. Pingback: The Ghosts of Christmas Past | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

