Twelve Days of Christmas: Butterscotch and Back-of-The-Bag Fudge

By Katherine

For some folks sugar is a drug of choice

For some folks sugar is a drug of choice

I’ve had richer fudge, fudge with far pricier ingredients, better chocolate, but my mom’s fudge has always set the standard by which I judge all other fudges. It was a treat each Christmas. So when I had a hankering for butterscotch fudge, I adapted her recipe. Then I fobbed it off on a friend with a sweet tooth and made another batch of mom’s. Don’t worry, I’m printing that recipe below too. So where does this awesome recipe come from? She got it off the back of the marshmallow bag. I tried to find the recipe online, but didn’t have luck. If anyone knows where it originated I’d love to hear. She thinks it was a generic brand, perhaps Weis.

Butterscotch Fudge

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 14 ounces condensed milk
  • dash salt
  • 12 ounces butterscotch morsels
  • 4 ounces white chocolate chips
  • 22 marshmallows (standard size)
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Grease a 9 by 13 pan. In a four-quart pot over medium heat, bring butter, milk and salt to a boil, stirring constantly. Lower heat if it starts to brown too quickly. Add chips, marshmallows and vanilla. Stir until smooth and combined. Pour into prepared pan and let set. Refrigerate once cool. The fudge should take a few hours to set.

Chocolate helps with your fix as well

Chocolate helps with your fix as well

Mom’s Back-of-the-Bag Fudge

  • 1 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup evaporated milk
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 22 marshmallows
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, optional

Grease a 9 by 13 pan. In a four-quart pot over medium heat, bring butter, sugar, milk and salt to a boil. Let boil for five minutes stirring constantly. Add chips, marshmallows, nuts and vanilla. Lower heat and stir until smooth and combined. Pour into prepared pan and let set. Refrigerate once cool. The fudge should take a few hours to set.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Twelve Days of Christmas: Butterscotch and Back-of-The-Bag Fudge

  1. Sounds great! I am going to make the butterscotch fudge! I’ll let you know how I do!

  2. Carolyn Chan says:

    FUDGE!! Hard, soft, chewy, melt in your mouth – all at the same time. I might have to make some fudgy treats this Christmas. I love the name of your mum’s fudge :)

  3. thehaleyway says:

    I love these recipes- I am on a holiday recipe kick myself, and fudge may be my newest addition. Thanks Rufus!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Look at that color! I’ve little self-discipline when it comes to fudge. I make it for gifts and must have it packed up and ready to go ASAP or I’ll raid it and then, once spoiled, have to keep it and make another batch. If I make this butterscotch, why kid myself. I should just make a double batch and be done with it.

  5. petit4chocolatier says:

    Love fudge! And I especially must try the butterscotch :)
    Sugar is the drug of choice!

  6. zestybeandog says:

    I shouldn’t have read this… I have been on a sugar kick lately and now I’m tempted again!!! Thanks a lot ;) It looks fantastic!

  7. I am right along with Jen. I was just trying to keep my sugar craving down but now that I saw your butterscotch fudge picture, I can’t get that out of my mind. BAM

  8. That butterscotch fudge is irresistible. Have a Happy Christmas, both of you:)

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    What perfect timing, Greg, and thank you Mom! I was looking for a fudge recipe that didn’t have tonnes of cream (or any) and by pure luck, I have ALL of the ingredients above. It looks like I can make this tonight.

  10. TasteFood says:

    Oh, I am craving some fudge right now.

  11. egg me on says:

    These look fudge-ing great, guys!

  12. nrhatch says:

    Hey! Are you trying to turn us into FAT Jolly Elves? :D

  13. I love any kind of fudge, both versions looks great!

  14. Kristy says:

    I like the name “back of the bag fudge.” It has a nice ring to it. :)

  15. Pingback: Christmas Baking 2012 Final Entry: Chocolate Peanut Fudge « Kitcheninspirations

  16. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: Rosemary and Pomegranate Gin and Tonics | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  17. Pingback: The Ghosts of Christmas Past | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

