Twelve Days of Christmas: Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire

Fire good

For the next 12 days we’ll bring you recipes that are perfect for Christmas and holiday celebrations. We’ll feature more drinks and sugar than normal, because let’s face it holiday celebrations often involve family or coworkers, sometimes both. Alcohol and sugar will help you make it through. But first here’s a snack that’s perfect cooked indoors or out.

Chestnuts can be roasted many different ways but over an open fire is always best. There are baskets made to use in a fireplace or grill but I find that a sheet of tin foil over a grill grate on top of a good bed of coals with holes punched through it works great. Just cut an X on the flat side of each nut then place on top of hot coals. Do not forget to cut skins or the chestnuts will explode. Shake or stir the nuts every 10 minutes until done, about 30-45 minutes depending on the heat of the fire. Serve while still warm.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Grilling/Smoking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Twelve Days of Christmas: Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire

  1. I adore chestnuts! Not a Christmas tradition here, but definitely growing in popularity!

  2. Lauren says:

    Here’s to alcohol and sugar! Sitting up and taking notes for my Christmas festivities…

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    I’ve never tasted chestnuts. Don’t know why … just haven’t. Some day, I’m sure. The smell of the roasting chestnuts must be very evocative of Xmas. :)

  4. OMG, it is 12 days till Christmas. Jebus!

  5. They roast these at Christmas fairs here and in France. Yours look great!

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    A holiday wasn’t finished until the chestnuts were brought out. Tasty, yes but not exaclty as light as an after-dinner mint.

  7. OK, you lured me over with the video. King! That is our wedding song. Well, we were married 3 days before Christmas. Whatdaya expect? Love the chestnuts.

  8. Lovely shot of the chestnuts and you’ve reminded me how much I like Nat King Cole:)

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    You totally tugged at my heat strings with that ;) and now my tummy is grumbling because it wants roasted chestnuts.

  10. Mmmmmm…good way to start.
    Check for freshness in your chestnuts – which can be an issue in US grocery stores – by putting them in a bowl of water before you roast them. Toss any that float.

  11. Glad you posted this. It’s something I’ve always wondered about. Thank you for the nudge and a reminder.

  12. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent picture :-)

  13. spree says:

    Really beautiful shot! It’s making me madly crave something I’ve (sadly!) never tried. And Nat turns my heart inside out! (I guess I’m kind of a mess right now. Thanks you two!)

  14. I love chestnuts! :)

  15. egg me on says:

    12 days of holiday goodness — I can’t wait to see what you guys do! These are also awesome. Never had actual roasted chestnuts before.

  16. Karen says:

    Love the song and your photo. I can’t believe we are into the twelve days already.

  17. windykitchen says:

    great photo! I actually saw chestnuts in the grocery store for the first time today…I kindof always thought that roasting them was a Christmas myth. Learned something new!

  18. cecilia says:

    I love that smell of roasted chestnuts.. c

  19. petit4chocolatier says:

    Reminded me that I haven’t eaten roasted chestnuts in so long. Excellent music choice too :)

  20. I can’t wait to do this!

  21. nrhatch says:

    On cold days in Manhatten, it’s lovely to buy a bag of roasted chestnuts to warm cold fingers. :D

  22. Great song and I adore roasted chestnuts – ooh that lovely smell!

  23. rsmacaalay says:

    I remember Philippines in this post, during Christmas season there are a lot of vendors of roasted chestnuts

  24. Kristy says:

    I love roasted chestnuts…didn’t know that until last year though. They are a bit difficult to find around here. Have to hit the right store. We should try them over an open fire this year. :)

  25. Carolyn Chan says:

    Yum yum yum! Love the sweet savouriness of chestnuts and they are so good warm from the fire. I usually have no patience and try to peel them while they are straight out of the oven and far too hot! merry Christmas!

  26. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: Rosemary and Pomegranate Gin and Tonics | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  27. Pingback: Chestnut Stuffing | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  28. Pingback: The Ghosts of Christmas Past | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

