Pancetta-Wrapped Dates with Ricotta Salata

For Pete’s sake get your mind out of the gutter

Stuffed dates have been our to-do list for ages. When Kristy posted her grilled prosciutto-wrapped dates stuffed with goat cheese, we knew we had to make our own. And still we waited. Those little goodies haunted our dreams.

Our version uses a salty cheese that isn’t known for it’s melty gooeyness. The sweetness of the dates still shines through, don’t worry. The cheese lends a nice coolness and contrast to the whole mix too. OK, fine we were out of goat cheese, but our gamble paid off and we will be making them exactly this way again and again.

Pancetta-Wrapped Dates

  • 10 dates
  • 5 slices thin-cut pancetta
  • about two tablespoons ricotta salata
  • 1-2 tsp balsamic vinegar

Cut each slice of pancetta in half. Slice each date open lengthwise. Remove pit if not already pitted. Cut a thin slice of ricotta salata, then cut it into matchsticks long enough to fit in each date, but not long enough that they’ll hang out. Dip each cheese stick into the balsamic then place in the center of the date. Push the date back together and wrap with a half slice of pancetta. Place on a foil-line baking sheet and bake at 375 until the pancetta is crisp, about 30 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Italian, Pork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Pancetta-Wrapped Dates with Ricotta Salata

  1. I love pancetta-wrapped anything. Nice.

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    Bacon, prosciutto, pancetta … porky goodness wrapping anything. Works for me. :)

  3. Can I please point out the slightly off color description under the photo? I think you might have a…. fun….. sense of humor. I like both the humor and the figs.

  4. Sweet and savory is the new cool thing. You guys have nailed it again. Nice and easy appetizer. Thanks.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    Ricotta salata is a great choice here. Love the saltiness. I use it when I make Pasta alla Norma and it’s a welcome change.

  6. These are an old favourite in England, except that they are traditionally wrapped in bacon. They look delicious in your pic:)

  7. Yes, please. All of my favorite things!

  8. Oh dear Lord….need them now!

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    These little devils on horseback have been a party favourite for years, love the cheese change up too. I make a batch of these and freeze them, that way you can pull out as many of as few as you need at a time.

  10. I could have that for breakfast… ;)

  11. Kristy says:

    I saw your post pop up last night shortly after I posted. Too funny that we mentioned each other! These look so good and will be haunting me now too. I’m thinking Xmas appetizer this year! Goodness knows I can’t wait for the grill to come back out. ;)

  12. Karen says:

    Sweet and salty always make a great pairing. Perfect appetizer for a cocktail party.

  13. I became a fan of bacon wrapped dates earlier this year when I made them for a big party…but I love your version with the pancetta and the hint of balsamic with the salty ricotta salata. A perfect combo of flavors.

  14. sallybr says:

    I love ricotta salata and love any appetizer involving dates, but never made it myself. I also remember Kristy’s post about it, and wanted to make this right then. You are nudging me in the correct path… :-)

  15. petit4chocolatier says:

    Cute little tasty treats!

  16. Maureen says:

    I love the caption and didn’t think of that til I saw the caption. Then I lol’d. :)

    I’d love this as an appetizer.

  17. Lea Ann says:

    I just did stuffed dates too. I’ll have to try your version. I’ve got left over dates, some pancetta in the freezer and always some balsamic around.

  18. little devils on horseback! Yum :)

  19. egg me on says:

    My mind isn’t in the gutter but my stomach sure is grumbling.

  20. I usually put a whole almond and blue cheese inside stuffed dates – this looks like a terrific variation.

  21. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Calling All Hunters | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  22. Pingback: INVOLTINI DI PANCETTA E DATTERI CON RICOTTA SALATA | iBalsamic

  23. iBalsamic.it says:

    Dear Rufus, we’ve published your fantastic recipe on iBalsamic, the blog dedicated to balsamic vinegar. We were in contact by Facebook, do you rembember ? Thank you very much for your time! http://www.ibalsamic.it/dal-blog-rufus-food-and-spirits-guide-involtini-di-pancetta-e-datteri-con-ricotta-salata/

  24. Pingback: Have a Happy New Year | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

