Fish Tacos Baby

Happiness is a warm fish taco

When we first moved to San Diego everyone always talked about fish tacos. The idea seemed fairly gross to me. (This was a decade ago.) Then I had one. The combination of crisp cabbage, deep fried fish and creamy hot aoli sauce was so good I almost cried. Then I tried a grilled fish taco and actually wept.

You will too.

Fish Tacos

  • 1-2 lbs fillets firm flesh white fish (we usually use catfish but anything will do)
  • 2 limes
  • 5 cayenne peppers
  • 3 cloves garlic in their paper
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • 1/4 cup tequila
  • 1/2 green pepper

Heat a cast iron skillet and cook peppers and garlic until scorched. In a blender juice limes and add cilantro, stems and all. Remove garlic from the paper and add to blender along with peppers. Pour in tequila and blend until smooth. In a large container salt fish fillets and cover in marinade. Place in refrigerator and turn every couple hours. Marinate fish for at least 6 hours and up to one day. Grill fish until done and serve in corn tortillas with shredded green cabbage, spicy aioli, a spritz of lime juice, chopped cilantro and extra salsa on top. Refried beans and saffron rice make excellent sides as well.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Mexican, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Fish Tacos Baby

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I love fish tacos though I’m more familiar with the battered version. This seems healthier. Are those chunks of avocado under the aioli?

  2. joshuafagans says:

    Fish tacos are so great glad you are spreading the word!

  3. sallybr says:

    Nothing like shedding tears over good food… :-)

    I actually felt the same way about fish tacos until we lived in LA and my stepson took us to the best place for fish tacos in town. I was a bit surprised by my ability to inhale three tacos as if they were small potato chips. That stuff is dangerously good!

  4. Yummy – cold beer – dig in time:)

  5. Fish tacos are my favorite. Yum

  6. I’ve never eaten or made fish tacos, it always sounded so wrong! I’m going to have to remember to make them, yours look wonderful. Are those chunks of avocado inside?

  7. What kind of tequila do you use?

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    These look really good, Greg, and your aioli seem perfect for them.

  9. Scrumity – don’t think I could stop at one though. :-) Mandy

  10. egg me on says:

    Happiness is a fish taco marinated in garlic and tequila! Wow! Makes me wish I could snap my fingers and make it summer again. Great stuff, man!

  11. Eva Taylor says:

    I knew that aioli was destined for great things. I kinda feel the same way that you felt about the Fish Taco, I guess it’s time I tried one. Wish we were going to San Fransisco again.

  12. nancyc says:

    I’ve never had a fish taco, so I guess I will need to try one out! :)

  13. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds great – I haven’t had catfish since I lived in Georgia :-)

  14. I love fish tacos! And, yes, I’ll be using catfish as well.

  15. Yes, we are converts too.

  16. I have to try these… is the classic dish one can see depicted on TV shows and I always wanted to try them. Thanks for sharing :)

  17. I love fish tacos.. went to a restaurant thinking I could order some, but they had changed their menu:( now.. I can make these:)

  18. oh, happiness IS a warm fish taco!

  19. Jessica says:

    I have an aunt in San Diego, and whenever we visit, fish tacos it is! I think a grilled one would make me weep due to not being fried. But I’m sure it’s still awesome! ;)

  20. Kristy says:

    I remember thinking the same thing when we moved out west. Then we fell in love with them. Now I can’t remember the last time we had a beef or chicken taco. It’s fish all the way!

  21. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Ole! | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

