Sunday Suppers: The Anything But Turkey Edition

Tired of turkey yet? Give it a few days if you said no. In the meantime, perhaps some fish and grits are in order.

Trout Poached in Spicy Tomato Sauce

Me likey the spicy

OK, that rice is a nice, healthy side, but let’s swap it out for these:

Baked Grits With Mushrooms and Green Onions

Just a small slice of heaven

Still have room for dessert?

Lemon Cornmeal Cakes

Single servings are for kids only
About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Dinner, Food, Sides and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunday Suppers: The Anything But Turkey Edition

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Love the poached trout in spicy tomato sauce. The spicy in the title did it for me. :)

  2. Rufus, all I can do right now is literally drool over other bloggers recipes and in your case, earmark this for 2013 when we will have returned to India and hopefully will have gas again!!! Ciao Carina

  3. I’m also for anything that doesn’t have turkey in it! Lovely dishes.

  4. single servings are definitely only for the kiddos!

  5. Hey! I *like* single servings!
    Is that because I’m just a kid at heart?

  6. “Me likey the spicy”, too. Onion, celery and garlic–hmmmm.

  7. Kristy says:

    The baked grits look delicious. Made your brie and cranberry bites last night (used goat cheese though since Mike can’t stand brie) – GREAT stuff! :)

  8. Rachel says:

    I liked that cornmeal cake last summer and I love it now… mmmmmm!

  9. One of my favorite ways to do fish! Thanks for this variation….Looks delish

  10. Yeah for sunday Suppers. I really like your idea for the trout pouched in spicy tomato sauce. I cant get trout here in Asia but I am sure this dish would be lovely with any mild white fish, right?

  11. Eva Taylor says:

    Love the fish in spicey tomato sauce, I could sure go for that!

  12. nancyc says:

    I need to try those lemon cornmeal cakes!

  13. petit4chocolatier says:

    What a perfect meal!!

  14. Mad Dog says:

    Anyone still eating turkey is likely to get food poisoning, unless they froze it ;-)

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    Yes, please no more turkey! This meal is the perfect palata cleanser, especially with that spicy poached fish as the starter.

  16. Jessica says:

    I have never been a grits girl, but think mushrooms and green onions could sway me…

  17. egg me on says:

    Can’t get further away from turkey than fish & grits! Awesome stuff.

  18. I had catfish the other night just to get away from all the turkey I’m seeing.

  19. Love those recipes.. and those little cute yellow dishes:)

Leave a Reply

