Potato Kugel

It’s a big loaf of taters

This is really good as a side by itself or as the base for any number of meat or vegetable mixes. It also works well for breakfast as a substitute for hash browns or with fried eggs on top.

I used red potatoes but really almost any type will work. They can be peeled or left with the skin intact.

Potato Kugel

  • 4 lbs potatoes grated
  • 2 small onions grated
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup grated Romano
  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 3 tbsp butter 1 tbsp olive oil

Mix everything together but the fat. Season with black pepper. In a 9″ cast iron skillet heat the butter and oil in an oven at 350 degrees for five minutes. Remove pan and pour fat over potato mixture making sure to coat the sides of the pan all the way around. Spoon mixture back into pan and smooth down the top. Bake for 1 hour or until set and brown on top.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Potato Kugel

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Sounds like a very simple dish to put together and get a great result.

  2. sallybr says:

    That sound scrumptious! Love this type of recipe…

    Hope you both had a FANTASTIC Thanksgiving!

  3. Delicious Rufus, but, forgive me, I am a little bit confused here. Title is ‘Potato Kugel’. Kugel (german) = Ball ( i.e. shaped like a Tennis-, Christmas- etc. ball). It does not really matter,or, the recipe looks easy, quick, delicious. Thanks and ciao, Carina

  4. Nice! I love potatoes any way they’re made.

  5. Forget this being a side, I will have it as a main thank you very much. :-) Mandy

  6. What´s not love about this dish?!

  7. Carolyn Chan says:

    I could eat the entire thing on its own.

  8. I could not be left alone with that skillet. Even AFTER the excesses of Thanksgiving!

  9. Sounds like Rosti to me! Put some creamed turkey on top…Mmmmm

  10. Kristy says:

    The breakfast option sounds delightful!

  11. egg me on says:

    Plop a few eggs on top of that — I’m thinking some sunny sides — and that would be my heaven. Well, one version of it. Great stuff.

  12. Eva Taylor says:

    Very similar to the Swiss rostli potato I think, but it looks a lot more no fuss as it’s done in the oven. Love the sound of a poached egg on top!

  13. Rock Salt says:

    Helllooooooo enormous breakfast for one. I’ve been looking for you.

  14. TasteFood says:

    Yum. One big rosti. Who can say no to that?

  15. Andrea says:

    Totally yummy! Need a new way with potatoes and this is it!

  16. Jessica says:

    Dang, that looks like my kinda pancakehashbrown.

  17. nrhatch says:

    Potatoes rock! :D

  18. gah this sounds so amazing, I love potatoes in any form, must try this!

  19. Wow, this looks tempting. If it wasn’t past midnight I would go to the kitchen and try out this recipe straight away. Very cool pan too. :)

  20. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A nod to Oktoberfest | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

