White Bean Crostini

So creamy and crunchy at the same time

We made this appetizer on a night friends were coming over. We kept sampling, and sampling, and sampling some more. We still had some when they arrived, but it’s a good thing we were serving a big meal.

White Bean Crostini

  • roughly 1/2 loaf of French or sourdough bread
  • 2 cups small white beans, such as navy
  • 5 cloves of garlic paper removed
  • 1 leek
  • 2 tbsp rosemary or oregano, chopped fine
  • salt/pepper
  • olive oil

Slice bread thin and then cut each slice in quarters. Toast in an oven set to 350 until golden, about 10 minutes. Soak beans overnight or for at least four hours. Cook with about half a teaspoon of salt until tender. As beans are cooking, take a square of aluminum foil and drizzle a bit of olive oil in the center. Place the garlic cloves in the center and fold the sides up to create a pocket. Cook at 350 until tender and fragrant, about 30 minutes. Puree half the beans with the garlic, olive oil and, if needed, water from the beans. Use just enough of each to blend the beans. Set mix aside. Dice leek very small and saute until tender. Mix cooked leeks with whole beans and herbs. Add, olive oil, salt and pepper to taste. Spread each crostini with the bean puree then top with the whole bean mix. Push the beans into the puree so they won’t fall off when you go to eat them. Serve at room temperature.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to White Bean Crostini

  1. bulldogsturf says:

    I love white beans .. specially on toast with a good white sauce and plenty of seasoning… a favourite of mine…

  2. My Kitchen Stories says:

    Love white beans. Most especially with the herbs you’ve used . they look nice and chunky

  3. We get so many white beans here and I’ve never thought of these simple crostinis. Nice idea.

  4. Natalie Ward says:

    This is one of my favourite things!! Don’t think I could share it with other people though! ;) We usually eat it warm as an alternative to mashed potatoes. That way you can give yourself a nice big mound of it on your plate!!

  5. sallybr says:

    I made white bean “hummus” once but took a shortcut and used canned beans. Forgive me. Your version is spectacular, love the touch of the real beans on top….. delicious!

  6. Michelle says:

    Nice! I’ve made similar with mashed up white beans, but I like the way the whole ones look.

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    That is exactly what I adore about white beans (even navy beans) they are just so damn creamy! I like the way you kept some whole, has great appetite appeal. I may have to make some for our hors d’œuvres tonight.

  8. egg me on says:

    So was that plate just for you? ;) These look great. Simple yet kinda fancy app. Awesome.

  9. Karen says:

    Sounds great…I can see why it was so popular.

  10. rsmacaalay says:

    This is a really nice appetizer

  11. Lisa at fLVE says:

    white beans are delish. this appetizer is a winner.

  12. Kristy says:

    This is one of my favorite appetizers to order when we go out for Italian. I should just make it at home sometime. :)

  13. I like that you used whole white beans. I’m used to seeing a mash only.

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    Great idea and appetizer!

  15. Jessica says:

    Mmm, I love white beans and leeks. Great, healthy app!

  16. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A Hill of Beans | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  17. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Pork and Beans | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  18. YUM!!! I think I’ll be making this for one of our Friday NPA meetings. Or maybe keep it just to myself. hmmmm

Leave a Reply

