Spicy Kale Chips

By Katherine

Crispy and spicy

We’re far more likely to have turnip greens in the refrigerator than kale. Turnip greens are cheaper down here and as much as I want to I haven’t jumped on the kale bandwagon. (In fairness, I’m not the biggest fan of turnip greens except in soups.) I know — greens are so good for you. This was a healthy snack we both could agree on, although Greg, not surprisingly, said: “Next time you can go a little spicier.”

Spicy Kale Chips

  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • juice from half a lemon
  • 1 tbsp sweet Hungarian paprika
  • 1 tsp hot pepper flakes
  • sea salt/black pepper to taste

Wash the kale and pat dry. Cut away the ribs and cut or tear the kale into about two-inch pieces. (Save the ribs for a veggie broth.) In a small bowl, whisk oil, juice and spices. Use a grinder for the sea salt, if you have one. In a large bowl, combine the dressing with the leaves in the bowl, tossing to coat. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet in a single layer. You’ll probably have enough for two batches. Cook at 350 until crispy, about 12 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Spicy Kale Chips

  1. My daughter and I purchased a bag of these and they were disappointing.. this looks much better (plus they’re fresh) and the more spice the better:) Excellent!

    • Tori says:

      I’ve made my own (not this recipe, though, which looks awesome), and I’ve tried pre-packaged kale chips. Even with being not the luckiest experimental cook, the ones I make are So. Much. Better. than the ones I can buy at the store.

  2. Oooo! I can’t wait to try these!!!! Thank you so much :D

  3. I’ve never cared much for turnip greens either but I also want to try the kale chips. Thanks.

  4. joshuafagans says:

    Have done just salted ones that were amazingly good. This looks even better.

  5. Nice idea and they look cool:)

  6. Ooh interesting. :-) Mandy

  7. peasepudding says:

    Funny how Kale has become do trendy when it was always a cheap veg. I haven’t tried kale chips yet.

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    You have to be careful not to eat too much kale or even spinach as they both contain oxilates which block the absorption of some vitamins and minerals. Eaten normally should be fine but making a diet of them is not great. Why do I know this? I had a bunny who adored kale in her senior years so we had to be very careful.
    Now, having said that, I love dried kale particularly spiced up.

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    Such an easy snack to prepare and yet so good to munch on.

  10. TasteFood says:

    I love to make kale chips – they always taste better than store bought.

  11. I love kale chips and love seeing them featured on your blog!

  12. So did you like them? :)

  13. Carolyn Chan says:

    I remember one of my first jobs was in a flower shop and we sold kale as a decorative plant ! Now it’s being cooked everywhere – I love the idea of eating them (especially as chips !) but I can’t find kale here in Singapore boooooo…

  14. Kristy says:

    Maybe this is what I need to get Mr. N to enjoy the kale chips a bit more. He’d like the spice too. Now you mentioned what you usually have in your fridge…that’s a shot I’d like to see. Just what do my prolific chef/blogger friends Greg and Katherine keep in their fridge? I’m sure it’s a bit more filled and interesting than mine! ;)

  15. Mad Dog says:

    They look and sound fantastic ;-)

  16. They look great. I still haven’t made these despite love, love, loving kale.

  17. rsmacaalay says:

    Ive seen this several time but never made them, I am now so curious on how it would taste

  18. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Lots of Game Day Apps | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

