Squash Soup

Bacon fat is good for you

Aside from a little bacon, this is a lighter take on cream-based soups through the use of Greek yogurt. That’s not saying that cream couldn’t be used instead to finish it.

I used a turban squash, but any yellow acorn variety will work for this. If you use cream to finish the soup then blend all the vegetables together, add back to the pot and then add the desired amount of cream.

Creamed Squash and Leek Soup

  • 1 turban squash
  • 1 large leek cleaned well
  • 5 cloves garlic sliced thinly
  • 1 quart chicken/vegetable stock
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt
  • 3 slices bacon cut into 1/2″ strips
  • 1 1/2 tsp mace
  • Salt/pepper

Cut squash in half, remove seeds and pulp and chop into large chunks. Steam squash until almost cooked, about 20 minutes. Chop leek into small slices and separate the white part from the green. In a large stock pot saute bacon until crisp. Remove bacon bits and drain on a towel. Pour off all but two tablespoons rendered fat. Over moderate heat saute white parts of leeks until they soften. Add garlic and cook for one minute then add squash. Stir to coat in the oil, turn heat to low and sweat vegetables covered for five minutes. Add green parts of leek and sweat five more minutes. Add mace and stock, turn heat to medium high and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer soup until squash is easily crushed with a spoon. In a blender add yogurt and two cups soup. Blend until smooth. Empty contents of blender into a large bowl, then blend the remaining soup in batches. When done add soup back to pot and cook until thick and creamy, about 10 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and serve garnished with bacon bits.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Squash Soup

  1. TasteFood says:

    Love bacon and greek yogurt. Sounds like a great soup!

  2. Nice big bacon chunks. I like greek yogurt.

  3. Nice idea and good looking. The one problem that I have with it is that I think squash sucks! We are surrounded by mountains of them here, as I guess you are there. I’ve just never seen the point in them, even less in Hallow’een. There…..you got me in full Scrooge mode:)

  4. rutheh says:

    Turban squash? I think I know which one that is. I will have to look for it. The recipe sounds like a good way to greet the change in weather. And I peeked and saw your FB likes are growing by leaps and bounds! Very cool. Good ole Flat Ruthie seems to have flat lined for the time being.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    The crisp salty bacon would indeed be perfect in the sweet creamy soup. I like the tangy Greek yogurt too.
    My MIL used mace, I haven’t tasted it in a long time, I forgotten what it tastes like!

  6. Karen says:

    This sounds like an interesting soup to try for the fall. I haven’t cooked with turban squash before but use it to decorate my kitchen.

  7. OMG, your caption reminds me of a clip from a show called “Wife Swap” that my docket clerk showed me. In it, a pudgy, demanding, small child indicated to the new mom, “Listen, little girl! Bacon is good for me!” Awesome.

  8. gassengirl says:

    Nice! Gonna have to try that, I like the idea of using the yogurt!

  9. Kristy says:

    Mmm! That looks very good. I would no doubt add cream. I just love cream with my squash soups. Love the bacon too. :)

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Great idea using Greek yogurt instead of cream. And the bacon. Gotta love the bacon!

  11. Carolyn Chan says:

    Love the idea of using yoghurt!

  12. Mace! I haven’t seen that spice since my mom’s kitchen! I’m getting myself a tin of that spice, I used to love it! Lovely soup!!

  13. rsmacaalay says:

    That bacon makes it even more enticing!

  14. Bacon. Yes. Soup. Yes. Squash. Yes. Holy Trinity Batman!

  15. I can tell by the ingredients that this soup will be terrific. Hoping you’re all safe!

  16. egg me on says:

    I could use a bowl or three of this right about now. I had to look up what a turban squash is. That’s what those things are called?!? Wow. I’m sure they taste better than they look.

  17. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Soup’s back on | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  18. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Fall Soups | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

