When Zombies Attack: A Movie, Music and Cocktail Marathon

America’s finest city has the most zombies per capita in the world

Since we won’t have a weekly cocktail post until after Halloween — longer if there’s a zombie apocalypse and the power goes out — we’re posting our scariest drink yet a few days early.

Scary as in that’s a lot of rum. Most versions call for 151 proof, so this is actually lower in alcohol! But if the zombies are coming, wouldn’t it be better to have a slightly numbed brain before they start to eat it?

Speaking of brain eating (I call that writing technique my news anchor segue), the clips below involve some. (Just the Best of Tarman to be precise.) But Katherine picked the clips and she gets grossed out easily and tried to keep the brain eating to a minimum. Also, she said, and I quote (see quote marks): “That was the best way to spend a Saturday morning ever. Oh my God, did you hear that?”

The recipe below is our version of the Zombie. The real recipe was lost in the Zombie Apocalypse of 1929.

The Zombie

  • 1 ounce light rum
  • 1 ounce dark rum
  • 1 ounce spiced rum
  • 1/2 ounce triple sec
  • 1 1/2 orange juice
  • 1/2 ounce lime juice
  • 3 1/2 ounce pineapple juice
  • 1 heaping tsp powdered sugar

Dump all the ingredients in a shaker filled with ice. Strain into a San Diego mug and drink while watching one of the movies below.

Editor’s Note: Remember if faced with a real zombie to remove the head or destroy the brain. Records might help achieve this goal, but pies probably won’t. See educational videos below.

Oh and try not to get this stuck in your head all day:

Or this:

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to When Zombies Attack: A Movie, Music and Cocktail Marathon

  1. LOL We were looking at the cuisines that some people enter when they use our recipe plugin and two people have created recipes in the Zombie cuisine. I cracked up. I once had enough zombie drinks to turn me into one. Looong time ago.

  2. Yep, that drink would just about do it! What a fun way to spend an afternoon…love it!

  3. You’ve convinced me never to drink the Zombie – I have enough trouble being a Vinpire.

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    When you said brain eating I immediately thought of Dr. Hannibal Lector and was too grossed out to check out the videos!
    I’ve tried 100 proof before and it was liquid fire; I cannot imagine was 150 would taste like!

  5. Hey – maybe the Zombies don’t like pre-pickled people!

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    This post brings back memories of one very drunken night many years ago. And that’s all I’ll say. ;)

  7. Kristy says:

    Lol! Not a bad way to spend a Thursday morning either. As for the drink, I think I deserve one of these this week. :)

  8. That sounds like one stiff drink! Perfect for a zombie attack.

  9. nrhatch says:

    OMG! The Cranberries are stuck in my head . . . and I like it! :D

  10. TasteFood says:

    I am all set to make this drink. Bring on the zombies. The only change I would make is to pour it into a San Francisco Giants mug. Just saying.

  11. Mad Dog says:

    …get the cocktails in if the zombies are coming ;-)

  12. I have never had a zombie, but this sounds delicious — can’t go wrong with fruit, rum and sugar.

  13. Lauren says:

    Nice lineup. I heart Shawn of the Dead — we end up watching it almost every Halloween, along with other zombie-ish flicks.

  14. The cocktail I’d be totally into! But the clips.. I’d have nightmares for weeks, lol, sorry!

  15. Pingback: The Week of Orange Revisited | A Poet in the Kitchen

  16. Pingback: Navy Grog | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

