Super Simple Roasted Pepper Soup for Two

Garnish with more soup

Soups can take forever to make. Soak the beans. Sweat the potatoes. Chop the vegetables. Break the pasta…

This is a quick alternative that’s great as a starter for four or a main course for two. The ratios can easily be doubled or tripled for a larger crowd.

Roasted Pepper Soup

  • 5 red bell peppers
  • 3 cayenne peppers
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken or vegetable broth
  • 2 tbsp fresh oregano
  • white and black pepper to taste
  • salt to taste
  • olive oil
  • ground cayenne pepper to taste

Chop ends off cayennes. Cut bell peppers in half and remove stems and pith. Reserve the chopped off bits from the peppers for a vegetable broth, which you can make while the peppers are cooking if you need to. If you need instructions, go here. Line a baking sheet with tin foil and drizzle with olive oil. Place the bell peppers cut-side down and lay the cayennes flat. Broil on high until the skins are charred and the flesh is tender, about 10-12 minutes. Remove from oven and let sit until they are cool enough to handle. Peel the charred skin off and place peppers in a blender with about a half cup of the chicken broth. Puree the mix. Add to a stock pot with the remaining broth. Add more ground hot pepper, salt, peppers and the oregano. Bring to a boil, stirring to incorporate. Remove from heat and serve hot.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Super Simple Roasted Pepper Soup for Two

  1. nrhatch says:

    Sounds good. :D

  2. I need a bowl of this for my sore throat.. I can imagine it’s warm and comforting.. not to mention super healthy!

  3. Look at that colour! Sounds delicious!

  4. spree says:

    I like the soup, I love the garnish!

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve seen versions of this soup but have yet to try one. It certainly is a great looking soup; that color is incredible. I need to do something about this.

  6. delicious. The only peppers I can get here are green and somehow I dont think it will look as delicious as the red ones. But, I will try. Thanks. Ciao Carina

  7. What an excellent soup. The cayenne sounds extreme to me as I have only used bottled Cayenne pepper which is like dynamite. I think an asbestos Southern palate might be needed for this dish:)

  8. Ah, broiling the peppers. Definitely faster. Great tip!

  9. I would love a great crusty bread to dip into your soup!

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    I adore roasted pepper soup and you just reminded me that I haven’t enjoyed it in quite some time. I have a bag of roasted red peppers in the freezer…perhaps tonight with some goats cheese as garnish, or more soup, of coures!

  11. Carolyn Chan says:

    Yuuuuummy. A really easy way I found to peeling off the charred bits is to pop the peppers in a bowl and cover with cling film while they are hot.

  12. Lauren says:

    I love the simplicity of this! We have sooooo many sweet peppers, so I’ll have to try out some version of this soon.

  13. egg me on says:

    It’s definitely soup season. What a great way to start it off. Spicy and savory. Makes me want a grilled cheese.

  14. peasepudding says:

    I love pepper soup and like the cayenne kick to this one, there’s a nice Turkish one that uses Harissa paste you might like too

  15. spicegirlfla says:

    Mmmm…count me in on this one…you mean you can’t make this for 3?? Guess since its so quick and easy I’ll make my own. Love all the flavors!

  16. That soup is gorgeous. I think I’d want to color coordinate my outfit before eating it.

  17. Mad Dog says:

    Cayenne sounds good to me!

  18. Kristy says:

    Delish! I love roasted peppers!

Leave a Reply

