Rob Roy

This drink is only for the brave of heart

If we have to mix our Scotch we’ll pick a cocktail named after a guy who wasn’t depicted onscreen by crazy-ass Mel Gibson, but by bad-ass Liam Neeson. That makes us feel a little better for messing with one of the world’s great spirits. Sweet or dry vermouth can be used in this classic cocktail, but the sweet was loads better. (A certain husband made a certain wife finish the dry version, pansy!)

Rob Roy

  • 1 part Scotch
  • 1/2 part sweet vermouth
  • dash bitters
  • 1 maraschino cherry

Throw some ice in a tumbler. Shake in the bitters. Top with liquors and give it a swirl. Garnish with cherry. Drink while listening to bagpipe music. We couldn’t find any bagpipe music on YouTube that didn’t want to make us hide under the couch with our Rob Roys. So here’s some guy from AC/DC on the bagpipes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rob Roy

  1. Lordy, my husband loves both scotch and sweet vermouth, so he might love this…especially with the bitters to temper it. Me, I’ll take my single malt neat, right after I get out from under the couch.

  2. I have always wanted to enter a dark jazz bar and order a “Rob Roy” in a slightly husky voice…but perhaps I will just enjoy your recipe at home!

  3. Ha! That crazy Mel Gibson…

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    Looking back like that they sure don’t seem as bad ass as I once thought. That is one heck of a cocktail, even reading the ingredients is making me a little dizzy. Cheers.

  5. Amanda says:

    My boyfriend LOVES rob roys! I don’t know what kind of vermouth he uses, but I’ll suggest the sweet!

  6. Good movie. I liked Liam Neeson better before he became an Action Hero…
    No cocktails for me, unless they include champagne…

  7. cecilia says:

    Liam Neeson and a Rob Roy.. oh yeah.. I would have finished the dry for you if you had asked me. NZers are tough you know! c

  8. Carol Murphy says:

    Ill have to get your aunt Lu to try this with me. We used to have many a scotch drinking nights.

  9. Carina says:

    Gosh, never knew they played the bagpipes! This shows you, one is never too old (lol) to learn.
    We loved your intro to this blog today – but we also like the look of the Pub above. Where is it?
    Thanks, Ciao, Carina

  10. peasepudding says:

    Perfect for the rotten weather we are having, might have one tonight or maybe earlier with all this wind and rain going on here

Leave a Reply

