White Bean Chili with Turkey

All the colors of fall

Use whatever white beans strike your fancy for this one. We used a mix of Navy and Great Northerns.

White Bean Chili with Turkey

  • 2 cups dried white beans
  • 2 dried habanero peppers, diced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 8 ounces ground turkey
  • 1 small to medium onion, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp mace
  • 1/8 tsp cumin
  • hot sauce such as Tapatio to taste
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 serrano peppers or 1 large jalapeno, diced
  • salt/black and white pepper to taste

Soak beans overnight or at least four hours. Drain, rinse and cover with water. Throw in bay leaves, dried peppers and salt and pepper. Bring to a boil over medium heat. Lower heat and simmer until tender, about 90 minutes. Remove from heat. In a separate pan, brown turkey. Drain any excess meat and then add turkey to the bean pot. Add chili powder, onions, pepper, hot peppers, spices and chicken broth. Bring back to a boil over medium heat, then reduce to a simmer. Cook until thick, about an hour to 90 minutes, adding salt, peppers and hot sauce to taste.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to White Bean Chili with Turkey

  1. I made three bean and turkey chili tonight. Great minds :)

  2. rsmacaalay says:

    Yummy is all I can say, perfect for the slowly becoming cold weather there

  3. I’ve never made nor had turkey chili but your beans look perfectly cooked!

  4. Sounds delicious. :-) Mandy

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    A perfect recipe for our chilly chili weather. (Ugh! Sorry about that.)

  6. Hubby is violently opposed to turkey, other than at Thanksgiving…something to do with the Former Missus and her penchant for dry, tasteless turkey cutlets…
    *I* think it sounds yummy!

    • Kat says:

      He will never know you used ground turkey in it. We use turkey now instead of ground beef in just about everything from tacos to chili. Try it. It is better for you.

  7. I bought white beans for my sister to make awhile ago, but she never did. I’ll have to try this chili recipe then!

  8. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love your bean recipes – always looks so scrumptious !

  9. Mad Dog says:

    Thanksgiving chilli – vey nice ;-)

  10. sallybr says:

    Great take on chili, I would probably use my pressure cooker to get the beans ready faster, but other than that, I’d change NOTHING! ;-)

  11. egg me on says:

    For the last so-many years I’ve only made my chili with ground turkey … and this looks like an equally great version. Love the additional of white beans. Impressed that you remembered to soak them overnight! :)

  12. Eva Taylor says:

    Oh my chili season already? But if you have to rush the season, this is certainly a great excuse to do so. I think I’ll drag out the slow cooker on the weekend, thanks for the inspiration. Looking forward to the cocktail tomorrow!

  13. pursuitofhappieness says:

    I’m going to make this, this week for sure! Thanks for a great recipe as always

  14. Such a wonderful recipe for cold weather, I love white beans in stews and chilis

  15. albertocook says:

    I like this recipe.
    I love change my italian flavors.
    thank you for your recipe

  16. I just know you’ve posted this for all the Canadians who have leftover Turkey:D Just defrosted my second bag and can’t wait to try this!

  17. eyeluvfood says:

    Now that, looks amazing! I’d love to have that for dinner one night!

  18. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Some Chili cause it’s Chilly | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Soup’s back on | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  20. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Come Inside and Warm Up | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

