A Waldorf Remix

Pecans make this so much better

By Katherine

Growing up, I loved Waldorf salad, which means at some point in my life, mayo didn’t bug me. My hatred of mayo now runs far deeper than any childhood memory of apple trees and mom’s cooking. Making the salad how my mom made it — with mayo, walnuts and raisins — would also make Greg cringe since he thinks walnuts are greasy and raisins are too sweet. So here’s a version we can both agree on.

Apple Salad

  • 4 cups apples, chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/2 cup chopped dates
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt (regular or low-fat will work too)
  • 1/4 cup apple cider
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • juice from half a lemon

Toss pecans, dates and apples in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl, mix remaining ingredients together. Pour over apple mix and toss to coat. Serve immediately or refrigerate until ready to eat.

Enjoy this remix of another classic.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Waldorf Remix

  1. I just love that episode of “Fawlty Towers” – then again I love every episode. Waldorf salad’s not bad either – if you can get the fresh waldorfs:)

  2. rsmacaalay says:

    My wifes favourite salad is Waldorf and your twist to that classic looks even better got to show this to her

  3. Misky says:

    My gran used to hide M&Ms in her Waldorf salad, and we’d happily eat the lot just looking for the sweets. :)

  4. Wait – raisins are evil, but dates are ok? You’re so weird, Greg…
    I like this, but it needs a new name….some other hotel, maybe? :)

  5. egg me on says:

    Nice compromise with this recipe. Even though I know you’re not compromising any flavors. I like the switch to pecans too.

  6. sallybr says:

    We do EXACTLY the same, using yogurt instead of the evil oily thing ;-)

  7. nrhatch says:

    The Waldorf Salad in the clip looks great ~ barely a kiss of mayo. And lots of luscious grapes!

  8. I can go with the dates, pecans and yogurt here, but the apple cider would make it awfully sweet. I use celery in mine to have one savory thing. Raisins in Waldorf? Uh-uh.

  9. saffronandhoney says:

    Love the presentation and this tangy fresh version!

  10. pursuitofhappieness says:

    This looks fantastic!

  11. Great episode and great version of this salad!

  12. Carolyn Chan says:

    Nice alternative using yoghurt instead of mayo!

  13. billpeeler says:

    I haven’t thought about waldorf salad in years. This looks like a great version —-

  14. Ah, pecans. Truly Southern nuts.

  15. TasteFood says:

    I love the yogurt.

  16. ChgoJohn says:

    I really do like your version and salute your ingenuity.Then again, a good Waldorf salad is worth experimenting until your find one that will please both of you. It’s the creaminess of the dressing and the crunch of the apple that gets me every time.

  17. Pingback: Sunday Sparkle: 30th September « Beast & Beauty

  18. Young Wifey says:

    Katherine, we make a similar waldorf, never raisins and always pecans!

Leave a Reply

