Pickle Me This Again

So much better than store bought

This was my first attempt at pickles and they turned out pretty fantastic. Next time I may cut the cucumbers into slices for some and spears for others. Always use the freshest produce for any canning recipe.

This made two large mason jars worth of pickles. If you don’t know how to can things go here.

Sweet and Spicy Pickles

  • 8 cucumbers quartered in spears
  • 1 red onion quartered and sliced thin
  • 3 jalapenos sliced into thin wedges
  • 4 cups cider vinegar
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 tbsp sea salt
  • 1 tbsp mustard seeds
  • 1 1/2 tsp celery seeds
  • 1/2 tsp dill seeds

In a pot bring cider vinegar, water and salt to a boil. Pack cucumber wedges, onion, spices and jalapeno equally into hot sterilized jars. Pour in brine leaving 1/4″ space at top, clean rims and seal. Any jars that do not ping place in the refrigerator. Let pickles sit for one month before eating.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Garden, Recipes, Sides, Things in Jars and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Pickle Me This Again

  1. Kristy says:

    Mmm! Those sound tangy and spicy. Nicely done. :)

  2. These sound super tangy. :-) Mandy

  3. I love pickles like these. That’s something that I miss from England where good pickles are everywhere. It’s not really part of the French thing, although I’m starting to see stalls with “les pickles” in the markets.

  4. rutheh says:

    I see your likes are growing by leaps and bounds! These pickles look perfect!

  5. Misky says:

    Sweet, Greg? Sweet without any sugar added? :) Where does the sweetness come from?

  6. I’ll leave the pickling to you. They look great, though!

  7. nrhatch says:

    Ooh . . . yummy! The recipe looks a bit like bread and butter pickles . . . which don’t have bread or butter anywhere near them. ;)

  8. Tandy says:

    I absolutely love pickles :)

  9. Courtney says:

    I adore a fresh spicy pickle! Yum.

  10. Spicer pickles are my fans. I do like your recipe as,it is so easy. I can just imagine the crunch!

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    I tried canning some sweet peppers for the first time this year and included a jalapeño in each jar. I hadn’t thought about doing it with pickles. Great idea and depending upon how hot the peppers turn out, I’ll follow your lead and put one in my picles, too.

  12. egg me on says:

    One month! That’s a commitment. But it looks worth the wait. Love the jalapeno in there. Must add a nice kick.

  13. Kath the Cook says:

    what is the capacity of your Mason jars? must be triple the regular size. Again, no sugar?

  14. Mmm, I like mustard seeds and dill in pickles… I don’t know if I’ve tried coriander seeds though, would love to though :D

  15. Dave says:

    My dear wife and I just started canning. First it was tomatoes and salsa, but I think these pickles will be next.

  16. Pingback: Spicy Dill Pickles | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

