Applesauce with Brown Sugar and Cinnamon

So much better than store bought

This is a great way to use up extra apples after a trip to an orchard. The flavor and texture is so far superior to store bought it is not even worth comparing the two together. This will work as a dessert or served as a side with pork, or potato pancakes.

Use a mixture of different apples to create different levels of sweetness in the sauce.

Applesauce

  • 4 lbs apples
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 tsp grated fresh nutmeg
  • Zest of 1 lemon

Peel and core apples. Chop into small 1/4″ cubes and mix with lemon zest in a large pot. Cover with water and add cinnamon stick. Cook apples until softened, about 20 minutes. Add other spices and brown sugar and mash with a fork. Cook down to a thick sauce, about 10 more minutes. Allow to cool before serving.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dessert, Food, Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Applesauce with Brown Sugar and Cinnamon

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    The first time I made apple sauce was a revelation and I’ve not bought any since. I’ve never added nutmeg, though, and I’m going to give it a try. Thanks for the idea.

  2. Carolyn Chan says:

    It looks so much better than the store bought goo that I buy whenever I make roast pork !

  3. We’re just finishing up last year’s applesauce. Going to the orchard on Friday, to stock up!

  4. Love homemade applesauce. I made some for Thanksgiving last year, and it was a hit.

  5. Amy says:

    Yummy!!! I just went apple picking and my first thought was to make applesauce. This looks like a great, simple recipe to work from :) I agree, homemade is 1000000x better than store bought!

  6. billpeeler says:

    I have been known to eat applesauce and finish the whole jar in one sitting. And homemade is always a special treat. This looks delicious!

  7. Addition of nutmeg sounds delicious. What kind of apples do you like to use?

  8. Nothing better than good applesauce. I can’t wait to go to the orchard.

  9. nrhatch says:

    Yum! Fresh applesauce is so good.

  10. Karen says:

    Nice recipe for apple sauce…I haven’t used nutmeg before. I’m sure the aroma is lovely. Will be heading back to New Hampshire on Monday and will start picking apples in our orchard.

  11. Kristy says:

    Good stuff! Can’t wait for our orchard trip this year. :)

  12. Seen the stuff at the shops but never thought of buying it…although I’ve seen recipes that ask for it :) I guess I won’t need to buy it anymore :) Looks great, love the cinnamon :D

  13. We’re just about ready for fall picking epeditions over here…so thanks for this wonderful recipe!

  14. I totally agree, apple sauce made at home puts the store bought stuff to shame!

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    This would go well with grilled porkchops

  16. TasteFood says:

    Lovely – love the lemon.

  17. I have to try this as I have a bunch of apples. I wonder if I could do it in the crock pot?

  18. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Some Help with that Resolution | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. petit4chocolatier says:

    Love homemade applesauce! Very light and nourishing.

  20. Delicious! Thanks for a fantastic recipe :)

  21. Pingback: Brandied Applesauce | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  22. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Pork and Beans | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  23. Pingback: Orange-spiced Applesauce | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Pingback: An Apple A Day… | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

