Baked Falafel

So very good

Normally this would be fried, but baking them is just as good and much easier to clean up.

Baked Falafel

  • 3 cups cooked chick peas
  • 1 small red onion diced fine
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 tsp black peppercorns
  • 1 tsp ground mace
  •  2 tsp coriander seeds
  • 3 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • Salt

In a frying pan toast peppercorns, coriander and cumin seeds. Grind up spices. In a large bowl mix everything together and mash into a rough paste with a fork or potato masher. Do not overblend the beans, some chunks are good. Season with salt. Take about 2 tbsp of the mixture and pack it into a ball. Line a baking sheet with parchment and coat with olive oil. Press each ball into a patty. When done brush all the falafel in olive oil and bake at 400 degrees until browned, flipping once, about 30 minutes. Serve in pita bread with tzatziki sauce and sliced onion, green pepper and tomatoes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Baked Falafel

  1. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love how these are baked and not fried (I’m terrified of deep frying food after a disastrous attempt at fish and chips where the oil bubbled up all over my stove)

  2. nrhatch says:

    Oh, yummy! I love falafel. :D

  3. Pamela Robinson says:

    I get your posts @ around 11 something.
    My mouth gets to watering and well the appetite kicks in.
    I worked in the restaurant business for many years.
    The recipes you put out for us look and sound so darn
    delicious. Kind of makes me think of going back to that work again.
    Looking forward to thie next offering.
    Thanks.

  4. I love falafel but I’ve never ever baked it. This looks yummy.

  5. I’m very keen on stuffed pitta breads and this on looks good. Never really got into falafel but this could be the moment:)

  6. Mad Dog says:

    Very good idea!

  7. Fabulous hand food. :-) Mandy

  8. peasepudding says:

    I like the idea of baking them rather frying, I do like falafel

  9. sallybr says:

    I had a disaster on my only attempt to make falafel, fried version, at home. Ended with fried crumbs of falafel “dough”, not pretty. The crumbs tasted great, but still…. I got a bit traumatized and never tried it again. Your baked version is tempting me!

  10. That sounds yummy AND easy – my favorite combination!
    (Your post didn’t show up in the reader this morning :( )

  11. egg me on says:

    Baked falafel! I knew your tzatziki sauce would pop up again. This makes me realize that I haven’t had falafel in way too long. Maybe I’ll get it for lunch today. Although I know it won’t be nearly as good (or good for me) as this version. Good stuff, man.

  12. Eva Taylor says:

    I’ve only ever had baked, so I wouldn’t even miss frying them!

  13. ceciliag says:

    I love falafel, I am actually going to make this today .. I have not been getting ANYONES posts in my email or even my reader so I have unfollowed and refollowed your pages in the hope that WordPress will send me notifications of your posts again, I hate to miss out on anything! take care.. c

  14. Very very healthy meal. I have tried with the extra touch of indian spices.

  15. billpeeler says:

    I actually had falafel this past Saturday night – so darn good. Would love to try them baked, I’m sure I would love it this way just as much.

  16. Lauren says:

    I don’t know why I never thought of baking falafel, but that is brilliant!

  17. You made the falafel. You made the pita. You deserve ten points for that! ;) I can usually only put up with making one or the other, and I usually opt for falafel because I’ve had some pita bread disasters before ;) You baked the falafel (how healthy!) I’d do it if I didn’t have …particular.. eaters to please… ;) Great post, hope you enjoyed every munch!

  18. TasteFood says:

    I like the baked option and I love falafel.

  19. These look fantastic! So crisp and delicious.

  20. Kristy says:

    Now this is Mike’s favorite thing to eat with tzatziki!

  21. Thanks for this! Brought up dried chick peas with every intention of making falafel. Now I have a tasty recipe to try!
    Greetings from north of the Arctic Circle.

  22. Andrea says:

    I love the idea of a baked version. My family will love this!

  23. Dave says:

    Baking it is a great idea! I’ll have to give this a try and as side dish the next time I make kabobs.

  24. ChgoJohn says:

    Just when I discover a great little diner with the best ever falafel, you show me how to make them. I’d do a comparison but it won’t be much of a contest if I make your pita and tzatziki sauce, too.

  25. I have just seen this post and I want to run off and make these now! They look gorgeous, :)

  26. Pingback: Sunday Suppers with a Middle Eastern flair | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

