Tzatziki

You likaah the juice

This is an awesome dip, relish, condiment or funny sounding word.

Tzatziki

  • about 3 cups Greek Yogurt
  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 tbsp fresh dill minced
  • 1 tbsp fresh mint chopped fine
  • Olive oil
  • 1 lemon
  • Salt/pepper

Peel cucumber and grate fine. Place in a colander and sprinkle on some salt. After 10 minutes ,squeeze as much liquid as possible from the shredded cucumber and place in a bowl with the juice of a lemon, 3 cups yogurt, mint, dill and 4 tbsp olive oil. Season with salt and pepper and let sit for 2 hours in the refrigerator. Taste and add more oil, yogurt, lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste. Serve cold.

Here is a little something for all you Gyro lovers as well. The quality is not so good but oh well.

 

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Tzatziki

  1. spree says:

    One of my favorite things to dip into and this looks just like my Dad would make! (and he knew Tzatziki – and obviously, so do you!)

  2. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love tzatziki. Would be nice in your household to cool down some of the spicy dishes you cook :)

  3. Coming to the end of the Tzatziki season, but this looks a good one.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious and really simple ;-)

  5. billpeeler says:

    Such delicious, creamy goodness!

  6. egg me on says:

    I likaah a lot. Good stuff. Now I want to a gyyyyy-rooo.

  7. nrhatch says:

    Mmm . . . so refreshing.

    This was one of the featured “sauces and salsas” last week at Panera. I mixed it into some plain jane macaroni salad. Yum!

  8. I love this sauce on meats. Mmm…

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    Spotty internet in Budapest is making it very frustrating to comment. But YUM!

  10. TasteFood says:

    Tzatziki is one of my favorite sauces/condiments. Never enough!

  11. Kristy says:

    Mike loves tzatziki especially on gyros!

  12. Pass the pitta please!

  13. Mmm … I love steaks!!! Steak is my favorite.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/

    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  14. Yummy on a gyros! How refreshing!

  15. Pingback: Baked Falafel | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  16. rsmacaalay says:

    One of my favourite sauces around specially with kebabs

  17. Purely.. Kay says:

    I am such a HUGE fan of tzatziki sauce. I’ve made it before but it never turned out the way I really wanted it too. will try out this with my gyros :)

  18. One of my all time favorites…Tzatziki…so simple and fresh and is good on so many other foods. I am making this this coming weekend. Gracias.

  19. Kas says:

    Oooo I LOVE Tzatziki! Yours looks to die for! Will have to try.

  20. I love a good homemade tatziki, I don’t usually add mint, so storing that tip away for summer BBQ’s.

  21. ChgoJohn says:

    This is such a great condiment. I always get some to go when I’m at my favorite Greek restaurant. Now I’m wondering why I just don’t make it myself, using your recipe.

  22. Cyndi says:

    Love your Site………Thanks! Cheers…….

  23. Pingback: Sunday Suppers with a Middle Eastern flair | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Sherry says:

    what no garlic?

Leave a Reply

