Squash Casserole

Thick slices are the key

Normally I hate squash casseroles because they turn into a mushy slimy mess. Also a lot of times they are made with some sort of canned soup and dried onions.

Yuck.

So guess what is not in this recipe? Oh and it is really good too.

Squash Casserole

  • 4 cups thickly sliced squash
  • 1 onion sliced thin
  • 2 eggs separated
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1/4 cup grated Romano
  • 1/8 cup bread crumbs
  • Salt/pepper

In a large frying pan heat 1 tbsp olive oil and saute onion until softened. Add squash and cook until almost done. Season with salt and pepper. In a large bowl, whip egg yolks, yogurt and flour until smooth. Season with salt and pepper. In another bowl beat egg whites until stiff peaks form. Fold egg whites into egg yolk mixture. In a two-quart baking dish layer half the squash and onions, then top with half the custard and half the cheese. Repeat with remaining ingredients and top with bread crumbs. Bake at 350 degrees until browned on top and egg sets, about 25 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Squash Casserole

  1. Kristy says:

    Nice! I don’t think I’ve ever had a squash casserole. This sounds really tasty. Do you think some smoked paprika would work here? I may give this a shot soon. :)

  2. Eva Taylor says:

    Hmmm, never heard of squash casserole; looks interesting though. I can’t figure out what the round thing is in the front of the photo (looking on my iPhone!)

  3. Oh my that sounds good. And I haven´t even had breakfast yet!

  4. Carolyn Chan says:

    Never heard of a squash casserole but looks delicious!

  5. I’ve been thinking about going through those old church cookbooks on my shelf and doing a retro/casserole series this winter…with updates like No Canned Soup… ;)
    I like the sound of this one…

  6. Slimy but good? Cool, just like okra!

  7. I like squash, but like you, not over cooked.

  8. spicegirlfla says:

    Yum….I agree, those watery squash casseroles are not for me either!! This is also not over the top with fats using the yogurt, I like that idea!!

  9. Crunchy and cheesy! Yum.

  10. sallybr says:

    Love the addition of yogurt, I am a yogurt fanatic, use it all the time and I’m always searching for new twists – this casserole rocks, my friend… rocks!

  11. Lauren says:

    I have had the same slimy, mushy experience with squash casseroles in the past, and my relationship with summer squash is already tentative at best. This might be worth a shot, though…

  12. Maya Oryan says:

    yummy! Love it!

  13. zestybeandog says:

    Nice! Love the use of yogurt!

  14. I love squash casserole, but not the kind with soup or goo. Mine doesn’t have the creaminess of the yogurt, or the big squash slices…this version sounds really good!

  15. egg me on says:

    Ooo, it looks really good! Nice!

  16. nancyc says:

    I love squash casseroles–this one sounds really good!

  17. ChgoJohn says:

    Now this is a squash casserole we can all get behind. Just say “No!” to the soup!

Leave a Reply

