Leek and Potato Soup

That there is perdy

This soup is almost more of a hearty vegetable stew.

Add more stock if you prefer more broth.

Potato and Leek Soup

  • 4-6 medium potatoes washed, and cut into small bites skin still on
  • 2 large leeks washed well
  • 1 cayenne pepper diced fine
  • 6 large garlic cloves sliced into thin slivers
  • 1 quart chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh thyme
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh sage
  • Salt/pepper

Finely dice white part of leeks . Slice green parts into thin half circles. In a large stock pot heat two tablepoons olive oil with one tablespoon butter. Saute white part of leeks until they begin to brown. Add garlic and cook one minute more. Add potatoes and one tablespoon sage. Mix well and turn heat to very low. Sweat vegetables for 5 minutes. Add green part of leeks, season with salt and pepper and one tablespoon thyme. Cover and sweat another 5 minutes. Add wine and deglaze pan. Turn heat back to a medium simmer and add stock and the rest of the herbs. Cook until potatoes break easily with the back of a spoon. Season with salt and pepper and serve with toasted Italian bread.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Leek and Potato Soup

  1. I like potato soup with discernible pieces of potato. Nice soup Greg.

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    The flavours sound very tasty. I’ve never cooked with leek though I’m more familiar with the cream versions of potato and leek soup.

    By the way, I’m curious why the herbs are added at two different points in the cooking process. I just started growing some thyme and would really like to try adding it to something that would really benefit from the fresh herb.

  3. nrhatch says:

    YUM! I love tattie soup. :D

  4. ambrosiana says:

    Love poatoes and leeks!

  5. Always a good combo – spuddies and leeks. :-) Mandy

  6. You’ve made a simple, classic more gutsy with the inclusion of cayenne. Nice idea.

  7. niasunset says:

    I love soups and leek, this one seems so delicious, so delicious… and amazing composition of your camera. Thank you dear Rufus, have a nice weekend, love, nia

  8. niasunset says:

    Reblogged this on photographyofnia and commented:
    Do you like Leek? I do.

  9. I love the way you take ordinary and fill it with pizazz.

  10. Carolyn Chan says:

    Such a great combination. Weird, I’be always blitzed mine so it’s creamy and thick but your way is easier and looks so rustic (I love the photo)!

  11. Very soon it will be soup weather. Anything with potatoes is a family favorite. Thank you for this recipe.

  12. love this classic combination! Great recipe! Have a wonderful weekend :)

  13. Soup looks great and I like that your version does not have cream,. Where did you get that hot pot holder- very nice!

  14. Eva Taylor says:

    I usually purée my leek and potato soup, this version makes it a lit more hearty. Still too hot in the big smoke for soup though.

  15. This looks better than the blended version I’ve had to make before.

  16. Lauren says:

    Yum! I usually make mine blended with cream, but this looks like a tasty variation.

  17. billpeeler says:

    Looks hearty and delicious!

  18. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds very good and suitably different to the original ;-)

  19. Mmm, I like the addition of fresh sage! This is the first year I’ve planted sage and I am loving it.

  20. Adding the cayenne is interesting.
    Still waiting for soup weather. Maybe after the tropical stuff finishes for the year….

  21. egg me on says:

    Is it soup weather already?? You really did put the nail in summer’s coffin. I know, that sounds so morbid. Sorry. The soup / stew sounds awesome.

  22. ChgoJohn says:

    This is a great soup, Greg. The mix of leeks with potatoes is such a great combo. All too often too much cream is added and it obliterates the taste of everything else.

  23. jdewitt8 says:

    Like others have said, I am only familiar with creamy versions of this soup. This recipe is probably a bit healthier than those. I will definitely try it this winter maybe in a crock pot version.

  24. viveka says:

    Like the look and read of this … like it because always when I been served potato and leek soup it has been a mush – love that potatoes are kept in pieces. Love to see what I eat. So this I will let go to file.

  25. Kristy says:

    This is definitely very hearty…and perdy!

  26. SimpleP says:

    I’m taking this as a good sign that soup season is around the corner. Excellent!

  27. peasepudding says:

    I like this style with the chunky potato, we always blend ours but I think this wold be nicer

  28. This looks delicious! My boyfriend typically makes a creamier version of this soup which I adore, but yours looks incredible. As we are always looking for different spins on old favourites, I’m definitely suggesting we try this one next time! :)

  29. Natalie Ward says:

    This is still my favourite soup, I blend it usually though, will keep it chunky next time. I made my first soup of the season last week, (a French lentil with Vietnamese mint pistou) it just felt right I’m ready for Autumn now!

  30. Erin says:

    This is the first time I have seen this soup unblended and I am suddenly both intrigued and hungry.

    Erin – ekcantcook.blogspot.com

  31. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Some Help with that Resolution | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  32. petit4chocolatier says:

    This potato soup is incredible and is exactly like a stew. Good stuff!!

  33. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Soup’s back on | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

