Pimm’s Cup

Hey that rooftop kind of looks like a mountain

By Katherine

Sometimes you can’t mess with a classic. And you can’t make a round peg go into a square hole either. Greg has tried over the last few weeks to like Pimm’s No. 1. He’s made several incarnations of Pimm’s Cups and each time declares they’re simply not refreshing enough. Finally, I told him: It’s not the Pimm’s, it’s you. The gin-based liqueur with a secret mix of herbs isn’t for everyone, but I sure love it, which is good since the rest of the bottle is mine.

Pimm’s Cup

  • 2 ounces Pimm’s No. 1
  • ginger ale
  • lime wedge
  • cucumber slice

Fill a highball glass half way with ice. Squeeze the lime wedge over it and fill with ginger ale. Garnish with cucumber. For a less sweet version, use half ginger ale and half tonic water.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Pimm’s Cup

  1. I’ve read about Pimm’s before.. but have never tried it! Now you’ve piqued my curiosity!! This one looks excellent!

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    I dislike cucumbers so that’s a turn off but as someone else posted, I’ve heard of a Pimm’s cup before and wouldn’t mind trying a sip or two. :)

  3. Jessica says:

    I’ve only had a Pimm’s cup once not really knowing what to expect and was surprised by how cucumbery it was. Maybe that was just that one…otherwise, agreed on the refreshing factor!

  4. I’ve never found an alcoholic drink to be as refreshing as water. I don’t think it’s their job. Their job is to seduce you into having a good time with their unusual and delicious flavours, and then to make you fall over:)

  5. Mad Dog says:

    I always add good quality lemonade, cucumber, mint leaves, strawberries, orange segments, slices of apple and some gin for additional kick and flavour.

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    Truly a classic, and such a lovely glass too. Cheers!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Gin and I are not on speaking terms. All the more for you, Katherine, to enjoy.

  8. I love Pimm’s!! So English!

  9. Kristy says:

    I’ve heard of Pimm’s but never tried it before. I’ll have to try it out sometime. And after a few of those, I might buy the rooftop as a mountain. ;)

  10. I’m not even going to try. Roger wins today….
    Enjoy it, Katherine.
    Carefully…. ;)

  11. Mary says:

    My sister has made me a few different variations of the Pimm’s Cup. I enjoy them occasionally, but only with some extra fruit added in, typically orange slices. I’ll allow you to have the rest of that bottle, Katherine.

  12. zestybeandog says:

    Love it, and the cucumber addition!

  13. spree says:

    Pimm’s and I have never met. Maybe we just should!

  14. Love that highball glass!

  15. I want to try one of these so badly but I’m afraid to buy a whole bottle in case I don’t like it.

  16. egg me on says:

    Oh! This brings back fond memories from earlier this summer, when two of my best friends married and one of their signature cocktails at their reception was Pimm’s Cup. (The other being a Dark & Stormy, also good.) Great stuff.

  17. Carolyn Chan says:

    I could drink these all day. They are so refreshing but dangerously so! I love your comment about how the bottle is yours, it’s the same with me and Campari, but I actually suspect I’m on my own with Campari outside of my flat as well haha

  18. I think this sounds perfect. I agree, Katherine, more for you! Have a wonderful weekend!

  19. A perennial favorite of mine. Tastes like summer!

Leave a Reply

