Sorghum Roasted Chicken

Save me the neck pa

This is a really good rub for a roast chicken. It can be stuffed with cornbread stuffing, with herbs and citrus or nothing else. The trick is to really get it worked into the flesh under the skin with out tearing the skin off.

It also makes the skin taste like candy.

Fatty, salty candy.

Orange Sorghum Roasted Chicken

  • 1 large orange juiced-about 1/2 cup
  • 3 tbsp sorghum
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 3-6 lb chicken
  • Stuffing of your choice
  • Salt/pepper

Wash and dry the chicken. Remove the giblets and neck and use for another occasion or add to the stuffing. Whisk sorghum with orange juice. Melt butter and whisk into orange juice. Separate skin from flesh without tearing it. Rub 3/4 of marinade into chicken flesh all over. Rub the remainder into the skin and cavity. Stuff chicken and tie up legs. Place in a roasting pan with 1 cup white wine and orange halves. Roast at 400 degrees for 20 minutes then turn heat down to 350 degrees and baste every 15 minutes until meat is done, about 25 minutes per pound.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sorghum Roasted Chicken

  1. annashortcakes says:

    Very nice! I must try this! Very Southern.

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    The roasted chicken meat looks moist and juicy. I must try a cornbread stuffing one day. :)

  3. I guess sorghum is a kind of honey or treacle – am I right? Sounds a very good roast chicken recipe.

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    I’m not familiar with sorghum, what flavour is it? The chicken looks delectable!

  5. egg me on says:

    Fatty salty candy?! With chicken?! There are literally no words. Except those which I’ve just written.

  6. Fatty, salty, sweet…
    I’m in!

  7. ambrosiana says:

    Oh! I feel like chicken tonight!

  8. sallybr says:

    Awesome! I’ve been staring at my sorghum bottle for months, telling myself I should do a bunch of good stuff with it… your recipe goes to the pinterest!

  9. With the vegan-cleanse done, I’m slowly working chicken back into my diet. Yay!

  10. Mad Dog says:

    Great – I bought a few chicken last week – the butcher had normally expensive free range ones at a very low price.

  11. Sorghum is on my to-buy list now.

  12. Maureen says:

    This will be on my table this week. You two have outdone yourselves on this one I think. :)

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve never bought sorghum but this chicken, with the orange juice, sounds like a great dish, certainly a change from my usual lemon chicken. Like some of the others before me, I’ll be giving this one a try.

  14. I learn so much from your blog. What wonderful adventures you share with us!

  15. That’s interesting that you used sorghum for the glaze. My grandparents ate sorghum with biscuits.

  16. Dave says:

    Looks very tasty! I’ve not cooked with sorghum before, but the glaze/marinade sounds great. Would it work to make up the marinade and let the chicken soak in it overnight?

  17. Kristy says:

    Fatty, salty candy. Sounds perfect. I saw a bottle of sorghum at the farmer’s market over the weekend and thought about you guys. Then I thought I should test that theory about sorghum vs. molasses running downhill. ;)

  18. Purely.. Kay says:

    You know how I feel about chicken recipes guys… I absolutely LOVE IT! Yeah… I need to make this next week when I am relaxing at home :)

  19. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: S is for Sorghum | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

