Singapore Slings

Umbrella sold separately

Purists can bemoan the lack of pineapple juice in these. We managed fine without it. Here’s the classic version and here’s ours:

Singapore Sling

  • ice
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • juice of 1/2 an orange
  • 2 measures gin
  • 1 measure cherry brandy
  • 3 dashes bitters
  • 1 tbsp grenadine

Put a few ice cubes in a tall glass. In a shaker with ice, pour juices, bitters, grenadine and liquors. Shake until a frost forms. Pour drink into glass without straining. Top with tonic water. Garnish with whatever floats your boat.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Singapore Slings

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Sounds yummy. :)

  2. joshuafagans says:

    Hmm, looks like it is time to get some cherry brandy. This looks refreshing.

  3. Classic Gin Sling. The poor old umbrella looks as though it had a few before it jumped in the deep end:)

  4. Cheery brandy! Oh, how fun….

  5. Carolyn Chan says:

    I want to live in your house of awesome cocktails.

    • Mary says:

      I was JUST this moment thinking this! I might need to add that splash of pineapple juice though. This is a beautiful drink!

  6. Misky says:

    Oooh, I had one of those at Raffles a few years ago, and then slidded across the floor on the discarded peanut shells.

  7. ambrosiana says:

    Sound fantastic! Cherry brandy must add that kick to the drink!

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    Haven’t thought of these in years. Cheers.

  9. Kristy says:

    Phew! That would pack a wallop for me! Sounds tasty though. :)

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve never been much of a Sling drinker but, I must admit, it does look like the kind of cocktail that should be made in, and poured from, a pitcher during a barbecue this weekend.

  11. spicegirlfla says:

    I think that umbrella has soaked up to much alcohol and needs a nap! I’ve never been fond of gin but with the mix of other flavors, especially that cherry brandy, makes me want to give this a try! A nice pitcher of this over the weekend would be a great idea!

  12. billpeeler says:

    I’ve always wanted to go to the Raffles hotel, where this was apparently invented. Cheers!

  13. Caroline says:

    Yessss, I haven’t seen the umbrellas in ages! This drink sounds awesome.

  14. I recall the character Peggy HIll from “King of the Hill” wondering what these would taste like…

  15. Lauren says:

    I can totally make this one with stuff I already have! Woot!

  16. Perfect timing as it will be 5pm on friday here soon in HK. I might even splurge and try to find some fruit and cool umbrellas for my SS. Take Care, BAM

  17. egg me on says:

    I prefer a parasol in my drinks, but I’ll manage. Great drink!

  18. randommanda says:

    While I adore beer… I’m a sucker for a drink with an umbrella! :) Looks delicious!

  19. This looks awesome! Chad doesn’t much care for the pineapple juice in cocktails, or we haven’t found one he really likes. Either way, awesome drink. Thanks for popping by. I will definitely get that email out. : )

  20. I don’t think I’ve had one of these since the 70s. It looks wonderful.

  21. Mad Dog says:

    I used to make lots of those – they were very popular.

  22. Purely.. Kay says:

    A couple of my girlfriends would love this cocktail. Must save this recipe :)

Leave a Reply

