Sake Salmon Steaks with Cucumber and Tomato Relish

Hmm, did someone forget the fish pan?

This is a great light meal that doesn’t take too long to prepare. Don’t have sake? Run out and buy some, or just use a light white wine.

Sake Salmon

  • 4 salmon steaks
  • 1 tbsp fresh dill, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sake
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • juice from 1 1/2 limes
  • salt/pepper

Mix juice, dill, sake and oil in a shallow dish. Season each side of fish with salt and pepper and lay flat in marinade. Let sit for at least 30 minutes, turning half way through. In the meantime fire up the grill and make the relish.

Cucumber and Tomato Relish

  • 1 medium cucumber
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes
  • juice from 1/2 lime
  • lime zest from one lime
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp fresh dill, chopped
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • salt/pepper

Dice tomatoes and cucumbers. Whisk the yogurt, oil, dill, rice vinegar, juice and lime zest in a  a large bowl, toss the vegetables with the dressing and season with salt and pepper.

To assemble: Grill fish over medium heat using foil or a grill pan, about three to four minutes per side. Remove from heat and let sit for about five minutes. Serve topped with relish.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Grilling/Smoking, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sake Salmon Steaks with Cucumber and Tomato Relish

  1. The only thing better than cooking with booze is drinking it! This looks awesome. With my new-found love of seafood I can’t wait to try this. I did tequila marinated tilapia the other day and I’m addicted.

  2. Kristy says:

    This looks so fresh and delicious! I’m making your balsamic sweet potatoes with my salmon tomorrow. :) Next time I’ll have to get tomatoes and cucumbers!

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    This does look good, Greg. Salmon and dill are such a good pairing but I’d be embarrassed to show my grilled salmon. I probably just need to make it more often. (I keep telling myself that.)

  4. Carolyn Chan says:

    Fresh, healthy and delicious ! Love that relish with the salmon.

  5. Awesome meal. :-) Mandy

  6. Ok. Here’s the deal for good looking grilled salmon:
    Lightly oil the grill after it’s hot, using a long pair of tongs. Start the fish flesh-side down, grill about 4 minutes, and flip to skin-side down. Oh, and use the ‘cooler’ side of the grill, rather than directly over the flames…
    Love that relish!

  7. spicegirlfla says:

    You can buy little Sake bottles which would have just enough for this recipe. But then again, a big bottle would allow for sipping and cooking :) That relish compliments the salmon nicely. Great grilling recipe for the upcoming weekend!

  8. billpeeler says:

    Love salmon prepared any-which-way. This particular which-way looks super delicious! I’m sure the freshness from the cucumber and dill works beautifully ——

  9. spree says:

    I can follow all but the last instruction…I’m sorry…wait five minutes?! Who in their right mind would?

  10. Ooh, I like the sound of the cucumber-tomato relish. I can’t wait till I can eat seafood again.

  11. Yum. The perfect summer meal.

  12. Purely.. Kay says:

    You know I LOVE salmon. So I was excited just to see it on the plate in the photo lol. I can’t wait to try out this recipe

  13. Eva Taylor says:

    A simple preparation is perfect for such a flavourful fish, and the relish sounds fantastic with it. I’ve never cooked with Sake, but it does sound good.

  14. TasteFood says:

    This is so light and healthy. I love sake. And salmon.

  15. egg me on says:

    Yes sir, I’ll run out and buy some sake right this instant so I can make this fish. And that cuke & tomato relish. Looks awesome!

  16. Reblogged this on cyclingwithanattitude and commented:
    Yummy!

  17. rsmacaalay says:

    I love a good salmon like this! nice balance of flavours

  18. Good morning, I featured this recipe on my blog today for my weekly seafood round-up. I also FB, Tweet and Pin. Thank you for allowing me to share! Here is the link:http://carriesexperimentalkitchen.blogspot.com/2012/09/seafood-frenzy-friday-week-35.html

  19. Pingback: Seafood Frenzy Friday (Week 35)Carrie’s Experimental Kitchen |

  20. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Barbecue Season, Hoooooooooooowie | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

