Peaches and Cheese

Where is the cheese?

Saffron & Honey had a wonderful recipe the other day for Gently Poached Peaches. We loved that it called for elderflower liquor and we could also use up some subpar Rose. (S&H didn’t call for subpar Rose, but we figured it was better to use wine than waste water.)

Anyhow, we had some the night we made them — wonderful! — and the next night we made these for dessert.

Grilled Cheese with Brie and Poached Peaches

  • 1 poached peach (two halves)
  • 4 slices french bread, cut thin about a 1/4 inch
  • cinnamon sugar
  • 1-2 tbsp butter
  • about 2 ounces brie (2-3 slices per sandwich)

Dice peaches. Melt butter. Slice bread. Heat up the griddle. Brush butter on each side of the bread and layer the fruit and cheese in the center. Sprinkle the outside with cinnamon sugar. Cook the inside is warm, the cheese is melted, and the outside is golden on each side, about two to three minutes per side, depending on how thick the bread is, how much cheese you’ve used, how hot your griddle is and where the planets are aligned on the particular night you’re cooking.

There it is

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Peaches and Cheese

  1. That was a good idea!

  2. Excellent use of peaches – and rose! – all around :).

  3. Perfect late summer treat! I bet this would be awesome with basil and fresh mozzarella too – like a peach caprese sandwich!

  4. I have to say, Greg, that that recipe is verging on the insane. Peaches and cheese is a strangely worrying combination for me:)

  5. Mad Dog says:

    That does sound weird – I don’t think it’s one for me.

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    That is a beautiful, rich and decadent sandwich.

  7. That’s the yummiest idea I’ve seen in a long time…and we just happen to have leftover brie from the birthday party…. :D

  8. Interesting stuff…in Hispanic cultures we often mix fruit and cheese: manchego and membrillo (quince) for example. And I’ve done camembert with blueberries…I am intrigued by this one!

  9. What an interesting combination! Thanks for sharing!

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    I never would have thought to combine these ingredients but now I know that I will. Thanks, Greg!

  11. billpeeler says:

    This is simply awesome – what a great looking treat!

  12. spicegirlfla says:

    Simply delicious! I have some brie and I have some peaches. You’ve now made my lunch something I’m so excited to look forward to!!

  13. ceciliag says:

    wow, i don’t think you gave this enough of a build up, This is an inspired munch! c

  14. Well, that looks like a delicious sandwich. I wouldn’t never have thought to use poached peaches.

  15. egg me on says:

    Whoa … there’s the cheese! What an awesomely sweet & savory grilled cheese.

  16. …I also love the combo of pears and blue cheese… another very gourmet sandwich combo… :o).

  17. Kristy says:

    Can’t waste water – that’s for sure. ;) LOL! I LOVE this sandwich. I’m going to have to make this one of the nights Mike is teaching or for my lunch. Delish!

  18. Carolyn Chan says:

    From reading a healthy post like the salmon with cucumber and tomato relish to THIS ??? You’re killing me ! This looks ten times more amazing :) Lovelovelove ! the contrasting textures and flavours.

  19. That looks heavenly! And something about that cute little polka-dot plate makes the sandwich look all the more handsome.

  20. I think the planets alligning is the most impartant part lol
    this sounds amazing and I really need to try it before the good peaches vanish

  21. Peaches are so good lately. I just love peach season. Thanks for providing another way for me to enjoy them!

  22. I was just thinking about making something with peaches and cheese. This takes it a step beyond what I was envisioning….and it looks AMAZING!

  23. Peaches and cheese…you guys are mental!

Leave a Reply

