Stir-fried chicken with basil, mushrooms and chilies

Spicy it more if you can take it

This is a great weeknight meal, comes together in about the time it takes to make the rice to go with it. It’s adapted from a recipe in Thai: The Essence of Asian Cooking. Use Thai basil if you have it.

Stir-fried chicken with basil, mushrooms and chilies

  • 2 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 3 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 tsp chili sesame oil (optional)
  • 3 fresh chiles, sliced thin
  • 1 fresh chili, sliced in matchsticks
  • 1 pound chicken breasts, skinned, deboned
  • 12 ounces button mushrooms, sliced in halves or quarters depending on size
  • 2 tsp fresh ginger, grated
  • 2 tbsp fish sauce
  • 2 tsp soy sauce (preferably low-sodium)
  • 12-15 basil leaves, torn roughly

Chop chicken into bite-sized pieces, set aside. Heat oils in a large frying pan or wok set over medium heat. Toss in garlic when hot and cook for about a minute. Don’t let it brown. Throw in ginger and the sliced chilies. Saute for another minute. Throw in the chicken and let brown on both sides. Cook until almost done, about 5-7 minutes, depending on thickness. Toss in mushrooms and let cook another three or so minutes until they are tender and have released their juices. Stir in fish and soy sauces, then basil. Remove from heat. Serve over rice and garnish with matchstick chilies.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Stir-fried chicken with basil, mushrooms and chilies

  1. TasteFood says:

    I’ve just finished my dinner, and yet you’ve made me hungry with this post.

  2. rutheh says:

    If I make this, I won’ t have to order out. We have a Thai restaurant within walking distance and rely on them when the cupboard is bare, or I am too tired. This sounds delicious.

  3. Very good flavours. I always have fish sauce in the fridge and when that’s mixed with chillies and fresh ginger good things begin to happen. Nice one.

  4. rsmacaalay says:

    Another Asian! I’m liking your posts even more.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    I love Thai flavours and these little button mushrooms would be delicious with it. Throw in some chicken or firm tofu and you’ve got a great dinner.

  6. sallybr says:

    Love this type of recipe, and you are right, it takes just the time to get some rice going. Prep work, stir fry, quick delicious dinner ready!

  7. egg me on says:

    An easy chicken dish with some spice?! Sign me up. That looks waaaaay better than take-out.

  8. ceciliag says:

    Exactly, this is just perfect! c

  9. I may have to make this sans chicken!

  10. Purely.. Kay says:

    Okay yes… I am a stir fry junkie lol. It’s easy to make after work and its always flavorful. I definitely will be trying this recipe

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    A good home-made stir fry like this one makes me realize how much money of wasted having them delivered to my door.

  12. Mad Dog says:

    I’ve just been to an Indian restaurant for dinner, but that does sound good!

  13. Kristy says:

    I was just thinking yesterday that we hadn’t had a stir fry in a while. They are the perfect weeknight meals! Great combo of flavors in this one. :)

  14. Carolyn Chan says:

    Good pairing with the brown rice – the nutty flavour of the rice would go brilliantly with that stir-fry.

  15. Can never have too many stir fried recipes… this one’s got good flavour combos! :)

  16. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Better than Takeout | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  17. Pingback: ☆ my 2013 resolution | recipe roundup from my blogroll ☆ | fati's recipes

  18. mjskit says:

    Just saw this over at fati’s and had to come check it out. This might just be one of the first things I cook in 2014! Looks delicious and I have all of the ingredients. Headed to check out more of your delicious dishes. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

