Lazy Sunday: Steak Edition

I’m gonna need a bigger fork

By Katherine

Is there anything easier than grilling a steak? I found two New York Strips on sale and since it’d been a few months since we’d had steaks, I just couldn’t resist. (Steak on sale is still a splurge!) The marinade? About a cup each of beef broth and red wine, a squirt of hot sauce, a squirt of Dijon, a squirt of Worcestershire sauce and some dried oregano (from our garden.) Marinate for at least an hour. Grill over high heat to desired doneness. Top with a grilled portabella and you’re good to go.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Food, Grilling/Smoking, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Lazy Sunday: Steak Edition

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I like chicken and pork but every once in a while … I’ve got to have a nice piece of beef. That steak looks very tasty. (I’m trying to decide what to do with a 2 1/2 pound beef shank other than my old stand-by braise.)

  2. Good looking mushrooms.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    I got the BBQ out for steak on Friday ;-)

  4. rsmacaalay says:

    Thats a nice piece of meat! Simple yet so good

  5. sallybr says:

    pretty interesting marinade, I ve never used beef broth as a basis for marinating, but it makes a lot of sense. Gorgeous mushrooms!

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    Yum! Have you tried aging the steak in
    the fridge for a couple of days? It’s quite interesting and it really does work like a charm.

  7. Can’t beat a good piece of steak. :-) Mandy

  8. egg me on says:

    Yes please! I’m coming over to your house for Sunday dinner. :)

  9. I just bought a couple of on-sale NY Strips too so I’m glad I came across this post. The marinade sounds great!

  10. I could go for one of these, especially while watching the Chicago Air & Water Show!

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    “Good to go” is right. Looks great!

  12. Rachel says:

    Oh pretty! Mmmm…

  13. nancyc says:

    Looks delicious! The portabella on top is a great idea, too!

  14. absolutely delicius and portobello gives the last touch. Beautiful tan glossy colour as well.

  15. Kristy says:

    Steak topped with portobello? Fabulous! I’d be a happy camper. :)

  16. billpeeler says:

    Looks awesome – sadly, I don’t feel like I’ve been grilling enough this summer and I’m missing it more and more. Your steak looks delicious – love the marinade as well —-

  17. Carolyn Chan says:

    Your marinade makes it much fancier than if I had to cook steaks haha love the topping of portobello mushroom.

Leave a Reply

