Flower Power Part 2

The tall one’s mine

This isn’t an advertisement for St-Germain, honestly. But in our exhaustive and rigorous experimentation involving elderflower cocktails over the last few weeks, we’ve found quite a few winners on the company’s website. Normally, such websites give us ideas that we can work with and mold to our own tastes. But quite a few of their recipes were so spot on, we’ll just provide the links since we didn’t change the recipes. Pictured above are the VPB daiquiri (short glass) and the Grand Autumn, which has ginger beer, bitters and more.

Here’s the traditional elderfashioned. (A lot like a Manhattan.)

Hey look our vintage Jim Beam glass!

And the nicely floral sake blossom:

Katherine has said I can’t use these place mats again for at least two weeks

Well, we should get back to our research. Cheers!

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Flower Power Part 2

  1. Tandy says:

    Fun research!

  2. The last two drinks look like they’d be happy on the counter of a very cool cocktail bar – nice one.

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    These look great. Cheers.
    Crap, I would fail miserably, I constantly reuse the same placemats, backgrounds!

  4. I’m horrible at props. Even if I had more, I’d have to think twice about hauling out the ironing board. :) I could use a drink just thinking about doing the ironing!

  5. An old fashioned and now elder-fashioned? I would love to have cocktails with you two.

  6. egg me on says:

    Now that’s what I call research! Love the vintage glasses, and the placement of the round ice cubes. Ice balls?

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    It’s your research that puts this blog head and shoulders above the rest. Such dedication!

  8. pursuitofhappieness says:

    I have been addicted to this cider with elderflower all summer! Great post :)

  9. Mad Dog says:

    Thanks for the research – I’ve got a bottle of St-Germain in the cupboard that needs drinking ;-)

  10. Really??? You know the anticipation is killing me! Anyway…

    This cocktail look beautiful. Oddly, with the 50-60 spirits in our cabinet, no St Germain… I may have to investigate. Have a fabulous day and come by and link up!

  11. TasteFood says:

    I love flowers.

  12. Beautiful cocktail!

  13. Carolyn Chan says:

    Such different styles with the one ingredient. Enjoy your research :)

  14. Lauren says:

    You may convince me to buy a bottle of St-Germain yet!

  15. We had the loveliest Elderflower cocktail at Sparkling Hill the other night. I was trying to figure out how to make it.. I’ll be looking for it on that website!! These look delicious as well:)

Leave a Reply

