I Formally Surrender

So pretty how the light accents the utter destruction

Two straight weeks of over 100 degrees have done what the bugs did every year before and wiped out every last squash plant in the garden.

I did get a total of four very nice and quite delicous yellow squash.

Of course I had eight plants and only three of them ever produced anything more than extra oxygen.

Maybe I sound a little to bitter.

Well so what. Screw squash and the horse it rode in on.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden, Rants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to I Formally Surrender

  1. Kristy says:

    You sound about how I feel trying to grow anything. Those herbs we started earlier this year…well, after surviving the kids knocking them over, surviving the transplant, surviving some wild animal digging them up…I went out to cut some off one night only to realize the torrential storm we had the night before decimated them. Gone. Every last little plant. Maybe next year. See you just have to adapt the Cubs’ fan’s motto….There’s always next year. ;)

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    So sorry to hear about the squash massacre. I lost 30-35 plus basil seedlings … only had 5 survive. It has not been a good herb year for the ones I started from seeds.

  3. nancyc says:

    Sorry to hear about your squash :( Maybe this will make you feel better…I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award :) If you’d like to participate, see this post: http://nancycreative.com/2012/08/03/blog-awards-and-a-big-thank-you/

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    It’s been a rough growing year everywhere. Sucks really.
    You should have a cocktail.

  5. Zo Zhou says:

    Aw, that is heartbreaking. With temperatures the way they are maybe you’ll be able to grow them in winter/autumn/spring instead :P

  6. God, I love that last line. I’m going to have to use it, so you’ve been warned. Really sorry about the squash.

  7. Oh dear me – poor you – vent, vent, vent – get it out of your system…last thing you want is pent up squash anger. ;-) Mandy

  8. I am so sorry but if it is any help most of the plants on my window didn’t make it this year
    the heat in indeed brutal

  9. Oh…I can’t like this. Glad you got the squash.

  10. nrhatch says:

    Bitter over squash is better than being bit by bitter bugs who enjoy nothing better than biting into squishy squashy flesh. ;)

    Hang in there . . . the end of the world will be here soon.

  11. Aw, that just sucks…my yellow squash are gone, too. The zucchini is hanging on, despite the gaping wounds, and producing like a champ. I’ll plant that variety again, for sure…
    Oh, and not to be a nit-picky plant person, but plants suck in carbon dioxide, and give off oxygen… ;)

  12. Jereme's Kitchen says:

    The heat has done a number on all my plants. I don’t think that any of my lily of the valley will come back next year

  13. billpeeler says:

    Such a damn shame —

  14. Patty Kasiewicz says:

    Be like the misfit toys on Roudoulph the red nose reindeer.
    Just start dreaming of next year. Aint nothing you can do about it. Oh it makes a person mad but thats mother nature for ya. Hope next year you have squash up to your ears. LOL

  15. This could be a squash plant in my garden…though I’ve yet to get any squash…I feel your pain.

  16. spree says:

    Oh, truly sad! This has been such a brutal year weather-wise. Sorry to see it hit your garden too!

  17. Mad Dog says:

    Well at least it wasn’t the dog ;-)

  18. egg me on says:

    Ughhhh, so sorry guys. Stoooopid heat. Better luck next year? At least your tomatoes survived, right?? :)

  19. Lynda says:

    Bad heat wave. So sorry.

  20. Aw, that’s okay. Mother Nature wasn’t kind to anyone this year.

  21. Lauren says:

    Ouch. It has been a difficult summer for sure (as my tomato plants can attest), but that’s just decimation. This heat bites.

  22. Karen says:

    Mother nature isn’t kind for the most part. It is a true battle between the weather and bugs. Your squash held such promise this year. Make yourself one of your great cocktails.

  23. Charles says:

    Aw Goddamn – I’m sorry… there’s nothing more disheartening than losing plants you’ve nurtured :( Just think yourself lucky that they weren’t your “primary source of food” at least… not that that helps much!

  24. ceciliag says:

    John officially joins you, we have enormous gaps of nothing is some gardens, all dead, he has yet again sown seeds hoping for a cooler autumn, even my butternuts have curled up and died, no cucumbers, no pickles this year.. lot of tomatoes though to use your lovely recipes with.. ah well.. we all tried.. c

  25. Next year, Rufus…. I’m waiting for next year’s attempt! (I’m sure by then you’d have forgotten the disappointment and shall give it a try) … I hope! :)

  26. ChgoJohn says:

    Really sorry, Greg, to read this. I know you’ve worked hard to overcome the bug plague and thought this year you’d make it. What the heat didn’t do to my tomatoes, tonight’s storm did. It blew over the least heat-affected San Marzano’s pot. I’m ready to pull them all and forget about this year altogether.

  27. What a bugger. That’s really disappointing. Has it been terribly hot this whole summer for you?

  28. Bummer my friend. Sorry for the loss of your time and effort.

  29. joshuafagans says:

    Ugh. I definitely feel for you.

  30. Courtney says:

    Oh, no! Poor little squash plants… and poor you, too. :)

  31. lemondropmom says:

    screw squash… right in the ear.
    sorry about your loss. i can’t look outside at the tomato cage of sadness right now if that makes you feel any better!

  32. Maureen says:

    wonder if there’s a more heat tolerant variety? When I lived in Orlando I grew squash but I only grew the varieties that the extension service recommended. That photo is nothing but sad. :(

  33. You’ve officially learned which kinds of squash don’t do well for you. That’s a good piece of information to have for next year right? Maybe you just need a new variety for your area. Try something like this: http://www.seedsforthesouth.com/

  34. Pingback: For the Love of Blog: Rufus Turns Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

