Lemonade with Mint and Honey

Add liquor instead of water to the base for an adult-sized glass of fun

Why should hot drinks have all the fun? Honey and lemon are a perfect pairing in this cool drink and with 20 plus days already this summer of the mercury hitting 100 or more we need something cool to drink.

Lemonade with mint and honey

  • 1/4 cup fresh mint leaves
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2  1/2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 cups lemon juice (about 8-12 fresh lemons)

Juice lemons, strain pulp and set aside. Combine water, sugar, honey and mint leaves (roughly torn) in two-quart pot on the stove. Bring water to a boil, stirring occasionally to make a simple syrup. Allow to cool completely. Once cooled, strain simple syrup to remove mint leaves. Combine with the lemon juice. This will provide your base, almost a concentrate. Add water, tonic water or spirits to your taste. We tend to pour it in a two-quart pitcher and fill it with water.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Lemonade with Mint and Honey

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Although it’s not been QUITE that hot here, a cool drink like this is still appreciated. :) I just wish I has some fresh mint handy.

  2. It’s hotter than blazes here, and our mint is running wild, so I can’t wait to make this!

  3. I could manage this one…the little one might even help!

  4. egg me on says:

    Seriously … are you guys in some photo studio snapping pics of your drinks this week? They look great. And this looks like it would hit the spot … even now, at barely 9am. (It’s that muggy already here.) Great stuff, happy weekend!

  5. ambrosiana says:

    So refreshing! This is probably the most thirst quenching drink there is. I also like to use limes instead of lemons.

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    Lovely indeed. And no booze can be refreshing too.

  7. Mad Dog says:

    I might replace the water with vodka and leave out the honey and sugar – excellent picture ;-)

  8. sallybr says:

    Love this photo, Greg! so beautifully composed…

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    Pure refreshment in a glass. I hope the coming of August means the end of your 100˚ days!

  10. spicegirlfla says:

    Sounds really refreshing! So you use both lemons and limes? I’d like a glass of this one…. :)

  11. Rachel says:

    and perhaps a shot of limoncello? mmmmm…. :-)

  12. peasepudding says:

    Nice and refreshing for your hot summers, I might have to stick to the hot one for now and chill it down towards December

  13. I reaaaaaaaaaaaaaalllly should make lemonade next time our tree springs out some lemons! :) Love this one….

  14. Kristy says:

    I never thought about mint in lemonade before….I bet that’s totally refreshing. Maybe I’ll offer that at the kids’ lemonade stand. :)

  15. Looks delicious! I’m in Dubai so I sympathize with the heat. This lemon and mint combo is really popular here, as are mint and lime drinks. (minus the booze, of course.) They really hit the spot! My favorite one is freshly squeezed OJ, lemon sherbet and mint syrup. Yum!

  16. Yuri says:

    This looks and sounds so refreshing! Perfect for the Caribbean heat :)

  17. I have all these ingredients on-hand. Making it now!

  18. I make lemonade several times a week. Even in the winter. I liked the idea of adding limoncello.

  19. Pingback: Sunday Sparkle 5th August + Dermalogica Microfoliant Giveaway! « Beast & Beauty

  20. rsmacaalay says:

    And another one, loving that black background. Anyways I will try my next lemonade with mint that definitely would be more refreshing

  21. Carolyn Chan says:

    So refreshing ! Love the limoncello addition.

  22. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Fire Up the Grill | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  23. Pingback: Minty Drink Roundup | Gourmet Veggie Mama

  24. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Easter’s Here | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

