Flower Power Part 1

Nothing like a stiff drink

This is awesome.

It has enough fruit flavor and sweetness for the girls, while being complex and strong for the guys.

Or vice versa.

Store bought vanilla vodka will probably be too sweet so follow this recipe for that part. The Lillet and St. Germain are not substitutable.

Sorry.

Elderflower Martini

  • 1 1/2 ounce vanilla vodka
  • 1 ounce St. Germain
  • 1/2 ounce Lillet blanc

Mix everything in a shaker over ice. Strain into a martini glass. Serve garnished with a slice of fresh ginger, if desired.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Flower Power Part 1

  1. I love a drink that’s just on the edge of girly :)

  2. My brain read “Power Food”.. lol, I think this drink is just what I need right now!!

  3. That is a proper “falling of the bar stool” drink – hoorah.

  4. What Roger said…Oh. My….

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    Anything in that sexy glass and I’m all over it; well, perhaps not at 6:38am, but later! For sure. Cheers!

  6. Mary says:

    oooooh, St Germain is my weakness. This sounds perfect!

  7. egg me on says:

    What an awesome photo! And a girlie yet manly drink. Best of both worlds! Something for everyone! Another cliche saying here!

  8. You know how I feel about St Germain – one of these coming right up!

  9. Mad Dog says:

    You are making me thirsty!

  10. That’s a very sexy looking martini shot…and it doesn’t look girly…sort of James Bondish in fact!

  11. ceciliag says:

    hmm, actually i am just as interested in the vanilla vodka! i am off to look at that too! c

  12. nrhatch says:

    Shaken . . . not stirred!

  13. Nice. I wouldn’t stir this anyway..waters down the drink faster.

  14. Courtney says:

    Why does liquor always look good…

  15. ambrosiana says:

    I love elderflowers on drinks. In Italy it is very common, specially in the Dolomites. Great post!

  16. spree says:

    So little time and so much to learn from you Greg! (Not familiar with any of those spirits, and yet somehow it’s sounds “just right” and I think I’d really love this drink.

  17. kristina says:

    I adore elderflower! We used to have it a lot in Austria, but not so much in America, but maybe your recipe will change that :)

    Can’t wait to try it!

  18. What a perfect cocktail. I just used St. Germain in a party cocktail on my last blog. It is the best as you said for the girls….or boys. I love your cocktails by the way. T

  19. joshuafagans says:

    Interesting! I like St Germain but have never tried mixing it with Lillet. I will have to try it.

  20. Lauren says:

    That. Looks. Amazing. Unfortunately I am stuck here at home lacking one of the unsubstitutables, or I would totally make myself one right now…

  21. rsmacaalay says:

    Nice photo Greg!

  22. This looks like the kind of refreshing cockail to be enjoyed during the last months of summer, when it’s still hot but not so much that one can’t sit outside. Thanks for sharing…

  23. Carolyn Chan says:

    It’s almost end of the work day here in Singapore and this drink is making me THIRSTY !!

  24. Pingback: For the Love of Blog: Rufus Turns Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

