Yet Another Take on Eggs Baked with Tomatoes

Like an egg pie

A little while ago someone may have let slip that Roma tomatoes are not very useful and really do not need to be grown.

Of course they are wrong.

The Roma tomato is the best for cooking uses and the most drought- and heat-resistant varietal out there. Here is an excellent use for some of them.

Baked Eggs with Tomatoes

  • 10-14 medium Romas sliced in half length wise.
  • 2 cloves garlic sliced thinly
  • 6-10 basil leaves torn roughly
  • 3 mushrooms chopped roughly
  • 1 cayenne pepper diced fine
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • Salt/pepper

Rub a large pie dish with olive oil. Fill the base with tomato halves. Drizzle with more oil. Dot with the garlic slivers, mushrooms, cayenne and basil leaves. Season with salt and pepper and drizzle with more oil. Roast in oven at 360 degrees for 15 minutes. Meanwhile beat eggs with buttermilk and season with salt and pepper. Pour eggs over tomatoes and bake in oven until set, about 30 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Food, Garden, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Yet Another Take on Eggs Baked with Tomatoes

  1. Alison says:

    As always this looks amazing. I wish I could come over and taste test it with you!

  2. Yum. But you could do this with several different kinds of tomatoes.

  3. Carolyn Chan says:

    That looks like it would be good with any tomato !

  4. Tandy says:

    Great for breakfast this morning I think!

  5. Someone who doesn’t like Roma tomatoes probably doesn’t like tomatoes:)

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    Have you seen Heston Blumenthal’s YouTube on eggs? Well worth watching. I think it’s called cook like Heston; he reveals some of his secrets!
    I love eggs in a fritatta; it’s a lively summer meal.

  7. That looks tasty, and easy…summer food at its best!

  8. Mad Dog says:

    Very good and simple ;-)

  9. sallybr says:

    I am on a tomato roll lately, not a day goes by without a couple of tomatoes on my plate

    your tomato series is right on the money!

  10. WHO said that???? I think tomatoes and eggs are a great combination.

  11. billpeeler says:

    I made your other egg and tomato bake last weekend and it came out fantastic! I didn’t take any pictures of it, so I’ll have to make it again if I want to blog about it. Oh, the trials I go through ;) Anyway – am loving all the tomato dishes!!

  12. egg me on says:

    Oh gees. ANOTHER recipe with tomatoes and eggs. Seriously guys, you need to broaden your ingredient list. Haha, just kidding. Like *I* would complain about a recipe with eggs. Great stuff!

  13. ceciliag says:

    Now this is actually the perfect lunch for me.. I love eggs and tomatoes.. and have tons of both!! morning you two! c

  14. rutheh says:

    Looks delicious to me! Romas are hardy!

  15. Kristy says:

    I would have loved this from breakfast tomorrow. Sadly, our fridge is practically empty right now. Time to get to the store. This looks delicious!

  16. Meenakshi says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I am a big fan of baked egg casseroles. I make something like this every sunday! I usually sautee the veggies before transferring them into the baking dish. But I am going to try this, and add buttermilk as well!!

  17. ambrosiana says:

    That looks delicious!

  18. Lauren says:

    Looks amazing! After my first tomato adventures in Texas this summer, I may have to try out some Romas next summer. The heat is just too much for all but one of my plants now!

  19. ChgoJohn says:

    Eggs and tomatoes go so well together and that photo says it all.

  20. You had me at egg pie!!! Delicious.

  21. Lisa says:

    Out looking for tomato recipes on your website, and this one looks good! I agree … sometimes Romas get a bad rap, but I can always count on them to spring up in the garden (sometimes from last year’s compost), they always do well, and they are hardy enough to be carried in by the little girls. I have fresh basil and a cayenne plant in the garden, so this recipe will do quite nicely. Thank you!

  22. Pingback: Baked Eggs with Tomatoes « Misk Cooks

  23. Pingback: Ομελέτα Φούρνου | Misswebbie.gr

Leave a Reply

