Watermelon Mimosas

The bubbles help mix the fruit juice as well

Punch up your melons with floral notes. Yes, that sentence made us laugh too. Any bubbly will do, but using a light cava or prosecco will help the juice stand out more. A clover honey is preferable.

Watermelon Mimosas

  • 1 750 ml bottle prosecco (or other bubbly)
  • 4 cups chopped watermelon
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 ounce St. Germain elderflower liqueur (optional)
  • 3/4 tsp rosewater

Puree watermelon and pour through a sieve to strain out any pulp. You should have about three cups of liquid. Whisk in honey, liqueur and rosewater. Pour desired amount into champagne flutes or wine glass or mason jars and top with prosecco. We use a roughly one to one ration, but two to one or three to one is fine. If you have leftover juice, you can mix it with vodka or just drink it over ice. If you have leftover bubbly, well shame on you.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Watermelon Mimosas

  1. TasteFood says:

    Wonderful combination of ingredients!

  2. Leslie says:

    My kind of drink! Gorgeous to look at and even better to taste!

  3. I have both prosecco and watermelon in my fridge. It is almost Friday here in HK

  4. Kristy says:

    This is exactly what I needed. :)

  5. Leftover champagne makes fantastic sorbet — it doesn’t matter if it has gone flat — add a little sugar syrup and freeze — yum!

  6. Looks like a venturi tube on a hot rod but cooler:)

  7. peasepudding says:

    Very pretty, I like any drinks with bubbles

  8. Carolyn Chan says:

    I can imagine the smell from the bubbles at the top as they burst :)

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    Ohhhh! and so pretty too! I love the tall glass, very sex-in-the-city. Watermelon this time of year sounds great in just about anything, but particularly a cocktail. You guys sure stock a lot, and I mean A. LOT. of different types of booze. Would love to see a pic of your liquor cabinet!

  10. sign me up! Beautiful.

  11. What a gorgeous drink!

  12. pursuitofhappieness says:

    This looks perfect!

  13. So pretty! Is it still blisteringly hot over there? If so, I’m sure this would be the perfect drink…

  14. Mad Dog says:

    I’ve got the St. Germain, please send round the other ingredients – it’s very hot here ;-)

  15. Looks very healthy and tall dringk. I like to sing Ma ma ma mama mamosa

  16. Very pink and bubbly!

  17. egg me on says:

    I’d like to punch this right in my face! Wait. In my mouth? Wait! Okay. You know what I mean. Looks tasty!

  18. Your drink recipes are always so amazing looking- even at 8am!

  19. Courtney says:

    I always try not to punch up my melons in public. ;)

  20. ChgoJohn says:

    Now that I’m home and can comment again, I had to come back to this one. It just looks so very good!

  21. Pingback: Thirteen Ways to Celebrate ’13 | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  22. Pingback: Our Favorite Summer Cocktails | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

