Stewing Tomatoes

Easy enough

So it has come to my attention that some folks may not know how to do this.

Remember to not cut the bad spots out, if there are any, until after splitting the skins.

Repeat step one billions of times over a life span

Start by cutting an X into the bottom of each tomato.

Geronimo

Toss a bunch into a pot of boiling water. Don’t overcrowd the pan. The tomatoes will rise to the top and roll around a bit.

This is just a nice photo

After about a minute the skin will split on the tomatoes. Scoop them out when this happens and place in a large bowl to cool.

Excuse me did I ripe my pants

Once all the tomatoes have split and are removed from the pan, wait until they are cool enough to handle.

That is about half the amount needed for a batch of gravy

Grab the skins and pull them away from the flesh. Repeat until all are stripped. Cut any bad spots or bruises off now as well. From here the tomatoes can be canned, cooked or stored in the refrigerator.

Let them cool down enough first

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Garden, How to and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Stewing Tomatoes

  1. bulldogsturf says:

    Thanks for the lesson.. learnt something this fine early morning…

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    This is how I spend my Saturday afternoons in September. It makes me happy to see a really large Roma tomato in the bunch.

  3. niasunset says:

    This was good, Thank you dear Rufus, but as always your photographs captured me much more :) Love, nia

  4. please share some of your lovely tomatoes!

  5. I´ll be doing this today…but your tomatoes look so much prettier than mine!

  6. We had such a rainy spring here that the tomato crop is not going to be good. I so look forward to good tomatoes, but It ain’t going to happen this year.

  7. egg me on says:

    Ha, “for a batch of GRAVY.” You’d make my grandmother proud. Great, simple instructions.

  8. Great tutorial.
    Gravy? Honey, your roots are showing! ;)

  9. Amy says:

    I wish I had the patience to do this. What a great idea to have your own homemade canned whole plum tomatoes tho! I bet they’re way better than the store bought variety.

  10. Mad Dog says:

    Tomatoes are slow here too, this year, but I did get some from the farmers’ market last Sunday ;-)

  11. Sara says:

    Interesting–so you don’t shock them in an ice bath afterwards? I’ve tried this method with peaches, apricots, and tomatoes and tomatoes are the only fruit that work reliably for me.

  12. Eva Taylor says:

    Cool, thanks for the tip. Can you do one for peaches, the bane of my existence (try as I might, the damn skins won’t come off no matter how I do it.

  13. That was a very educative post and beautifully photographed too :)

  14. ambrosiana says:

    Very cool detailed picture description! Bravo!

  15. Karen says:

    I’ve really been enjoying all of your tomato posts. It seems your tomatoes have done well even though you have had such hot weather…that’s good.

  16. TasteFood says:

    Look at all of those fabulous tomatoes!

  17. Carolyn Chan says:

    Loving the Tomato Series !

  18. Kristy says:

    I’ve done this a few times and I’m still amazed at how easy it is. :)

  19. Useful post — thanks!

  20. These would rival even San Marzano tomatoes!

  21. It’s been a long time since I’ve stewed tomatoes… I’ve recently been cheating with the canned stuff as I’m short on time, but hey, it’s never the same! :)

  22. nancyc says:

    I didn’t know how to do this–thanks for the tutorial!

  23. Pingback: Grilled Corn Stew | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Pingback: Caponata | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

