Summer (cold) Soup

Spicy soup will help keep you cool in the summer

Having a cold in the summer is the worst. Even with the AC on, we crave cool meals. But this soup is light, spicy and makes the most of summer vegetables and leftovers. It comes together quickly. We used cooked black-eyed peas, but that type of bean cooks fast, so used dried if you wish. Since we eat less meat in the summer, we used canned broth. But use fresh by all means if you have it.

Summer Soup

  • 2 cups cooked black-eyed peas or purple hulls
  • kernels from 2 ears of cooked corn on the cob
  • 2 links cooked Italian sausage, sliced
  • 6-8 chopped Roma tomatoes
  • 1-2 jalapenos, thinly sliced
  • 1 can low-sodium chicken broth (14.5 ounces)
  • 1 can low-sodium beef broth
  • 2 tbsp fresh oregano, chopped
  • salt/pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a 4- to 6-quart pan and bring to a boil over medium heat. Lower to a simmer and cook for about 30 minutes to allow flavors to meld. Add salt and pepper as needed. Serve warm with some bacon cheddar corn muffins.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Summer (cold) Soup

  1. rutheh says:

    Looks like a perfect summer supper!

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    Sometimes a cold soup makes a perfect meal – like just about any day so far this Summer. I hope you were speaking in general terms and that no one in your house has a cold. If not, I hope you’re already on the mend.

  3. Good dish packed with delicious flavours. Cold soup hits the spot in hot weather which, incidentally, has finally arrived here.

  4. Beautiful – I currently have acute tonsillitis and am craving food like this!

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    I’m sorry you have a cold, you’re right it does suck to have one anytime, but particularly bad in the summer when you can’t even curl up with you favourite fleece because it’s too damn hot! The soup sounds more like kitchen sink soup! Both beef and chicken stock? But I love the sausage in it. A dollop of yogurt would make this perfect.

  6. peasepudding says:

    I’m a soup fanatic, anytime of year but then we don’t have great temp extemes here and our AC has only ever been used to heat and not cool the house!

  7. sallybr says:

    Hope you feel better soon, cold in the SUmmer is not fun – I haven’t been sick in over two years (knock on wood), so I know at some point I’ll pay with a nasty one ;-)

  8. Mad Dog says:

    I’m quite partial to hot and cold food irrespective of the seasons ;-)

  9. egg me on says:

    I don’t normally go for hot soups in the summer, but this sounds great. Love the combo of corn, black eyed peas, jalapeño, tomato and sausage. Sorry about the cold!

  10. I had something similar for lunch yesterday – delicious! Feel better soon.

  11. Those big chunks of sausage say “hell ya” to me. :-)

  12. TasteFood says:

    Summer colds are no fun. Feel better!

  13. I will be trying this with chicken sausage.

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    I never had tried cold soups before but I guess this would change it

  15. A wonderful sounding soup…glad Katherine is feeling better. Summer colds are the worst!

  16. Courtney says:

    Hope you are feeling better!

  17. Christina says:

    Mmmm…this soup would really hit the spot tonight (it feels like 110 degrees outside)! :)

  18. Carolyn Chan says:

    Hope you have recovered from your cold !

  19. Kristy says:

    I keep hearing of colds going around. Not fun. I hope everyone is feeling better. They are the worst in the summer. Fabulous looking soup…I’m sure it would help get anyone on the mend. :)

Leave a Reply

