Zucchini Meat Loaf

So tender and juicy

The use of shredded zucchini really pulls this together and keeps the loaf moist.

So does the tasty fat in the homemade sausage.

Zuchinni Meat Loaf

  • 1 lb beef
  • 1 lb ground sausage
  • 2 zuchinni, shredded
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 red onion, diced fine
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup dry red wine
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh thyme
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh dill
  • breadcrumbs
  • Salt/pepper

Mix everything together. Add enough bread crumbs to pull the mixture into a loaf and knead a few times to pack it tight. Place in a greased baking dish and drizzle with olive oil. Rub the oil into the loaf and season with salt and pepper. Bake at 365 degrees until done, about one hour.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Zucchini Meat Loaf

  1. Mary says:

    I’m absolutely loving the flavors here! I might have actually sighed when I saw your post title, It sounds delicious!

  2. bulldogsturf says:

    Now that really looks good, and delicious…

  3. rsmacaalay says:

    That makes sense, the zucchini have enough moisture to make that juicy

  4. I´m currently planning our “picnic” for the drive to the UK this week. And now I see this great recipe. We may need a trailer just for the food!

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    I just got the KitchenAid meat grinder attachment for my birthday, and I was looking for a recipe to make with it, thanks.

  6. sallybr says:

    Long before my blogging days, I added zucchini to meatballs – completely forgot all about it until I saw your post…

    I think meatloaf is a much better idea!

    thanks for the inspiration!… ;-)

  7. This looks and sounds yummy. Meatloaf is a food I cannot resist.

  8. What I want to know is whether this gives you zucchini-flavored meatloaf or whether the flavor disappears in the mix,

  9. Another great use for zucchini! I should get a few more, before the bugs take them…mild winter didn’t kill them :(

  10. egg me on says:

    Haha. Can you call this veggie loaf now? This is amazing. What a great use for zucchini! I need to step up my zucchini usage this summer …

  11. billpeeler says:

    I would never think to use zucchini like this but it sounds super good!

  12. Using both zucchini AND sausage is inspired. Looks delicious!

  13. Hiding vegetables into my teenagers beef. Hmm…Don;t worry I wont’t tell them that you were my inspiration. Sounds so moist and savory.

  14. Another grew use for zucchini! Awesome.

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    This is a great idea, Greg, but your last meatloaf recipe was a good one, too. I see a trend here — and glad for it.

  16. I love the addition of zucchini.. I’m assuming this is from your garden?? I love them and am sitting here wondering why I didn’t plant any this year!!

  17. Mad Dog says:

    That looks like an excellent meat loaf ;-)

  18. Its a one healthy recipe. Its OK to substitute with any meat>>>

  19. Amanda says:

    I was planning on making meat loaf this week, think I’ll try adding zucchini to it. Always gotta sneak veggies into my own food!

  20. using zucchini as the main in the meatloaf is so creative and sounds just amazing

  21. This is fun! I do a zucchini vege bake, and occasionally I tamper with the idea of doing a meatloaf (but never do and often opt for spaghetti) but I like the fact this combines the two.

  22. Maybe this is a meat loaf I would enjoy! Looks good!

  23. Kristy says:

    Hmmm. I might just like this meatloaf. :)

Leave a Reply

