Roasted Tomato and Pepper Pasta

Glass bowls: The bane of a food blogger’s existence

Pairing tomatoes and herbs that are cut fresh from the garden with roasted peppers and tomatoes makes this pasta sing. We didn’t feel the need for cheese — a first — but throw some in if you want. We ate this as a main course, but it’d work well as a first course too.

Roasted Tomato Pasta

  • 2 small heirloom tomatoes diced
  • 10 Roma tomatoes chopped roughly
  • 2 red bell peppers diced medium
  • 3 cloves garlic chopped rough
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh basil
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 lb spaghetti
  • Salt/pepper

Toss Romas and bell pepper in olive oil and roast in an oven at 360 degrees for 15 minutes. Add garlic and roast another 10 minutes. Scrape tomatoes into a large bowl and add basil. Season with salt and pepper and let cool. Cook pasta in boiling salted water to al dente. Strain and toss with tomato mixture. Add fresh chopped tomatoes and parsley. Mix again and drizzle with olive oil. Season with salt and pepper and serve.

Just a reminder: We’ll be featuring tomato recipes all this week. One that caught our eye was Karen’s spaghetti alla portofino over at Back Road Journal which features basil, pine nuts, cherry tomatoes and mozzarella. And because we love tomatoes and carbs, here’s one of our favorite recipes so far this year:

Panzanella Salad

Homemade bread made all the difference

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Roasted Tomato and Pepper Pasta

  1. Kristy says:

    I’m all over pasta right now. Seriously for some reason it’s my summer craving. It’s usually my winter craving, but it never hit this past winter. Now it’s here in full swing.

  2. Courtney says:

    Ah, one of my favorite pasta combos: tomatoes and basil – and with some fresh peppers, too. It just makes me smile.

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    What a great recipe and the colors are incredible. A total taste of summer flavours in this one. I’ll agree with you on the cheese, you don’t need it with all that’s going on. I love Karen’s blog too, such great recipes and nice stories.

  4. egg me on says:

    What a great meal for a summer weeknight. So light yet sooooo flavorful, I bet. Although I don’t know how you could stand to be in your kitchen as it roasted away the tomatoes. I’m hot just thinking about it. Ha, and no cheese?! That is a first.

  5. I’m really enjoying this theme.. it’ll be ages until we have tomatoes so I’ll be back in a bit to reread and select the recipes I’d love to try.

  6. Glass bowl haha! Still, your pasta looks amazing!

  7. peasepudding says:

    nice and simple with all that fresh produce. I always resort to the dark photos with less light reflection for glass wear but given the choice I do avoid it ;o)

  8. Very good indeed. In fact we had tomato and pepper pasta last night. Synchronicity:)

  9. Very nice indeed and am still chuckling over the glass bowl comment :)

  10. Delicious Tomato theme has my lips smacking. Loving the pasta and the salad and any way you serve them I would be very happy to have some home grown ones here in Asia that don’t taste like red cardboard.

  11. Gold medal for Best Use of the Oven in Summer Pasta!

  12. Totally agree about the glass bowls :). Looks delicious!

  13. Mary says:

    I adore fresh tomato pastas. This one sound delicious.

  14. billpeeler says:

    Love when simple ingredients turn out so beautifully – roasting tomatoes and peppers can make all the difference. I need to cook like this more often —

  15. wee eats says:

    this looks like the perfect summery pasta

  16. TasteFood says:

    What a wonderful summer pasta!

  17. I’ve been craving summer pastas recently so this is right up my alley!

  18. pursuitofhappieness says:

    I’m happy to be back to be a part of this tomato week bonanza :)

  19. Karen says:

    Your roasted tomato and pepper pasta sounds terrific Greg. I can’t wait to see all the other tomato dishes that you will be creating this week. Thank you very much for mentioning my pasta dish…very kind.

  20. It even looked more delicious once you said you used homemade bread.

  21. ChgoJohn says:

    Roasting tomatoes make such a great foundation for a sauce. You’ve made one heckuve pasta dish with them.

  22. Yum! This looks fantastic :) The flavours are mouthwatering :)

  23. This is one of my go to meals when I don’t have much time to cook! Perfect!

  24. Carolyn Chan says:

    Love love love everything on this post and looking forward to more tomato dishes! I love mixing fresh and roasted veg.

  25. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Summer Favorites | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

